Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 October 2013
Not bad but information is too brief for an aspiring MG purchaser in my view, that said i did buy an MGB GT
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2010
I was all set to buy an MGB and had a few lined up for a weekend's viewing. Then, on the Tuesday, this book arrived in the post (thank you, Amazon, for the quick delivery). It's a pocket-sized book with only about 50 pages in it, but every comment is worth its weight in gold. It's an easy book to read through quickly (it took me about 1 hour) and I learnt a lot. So much in fact that I realised I knew next to nothing about cars from the 1970s (which model years had full synchromesh gears, better engine bearings, overdrive, heavier bumpers and raised suspension...) and therefore decided to postpone any purchase until I was really comfortable with the model's history.

This little book has probably saved me a small fortune. Yes, I could have got lucky and bought a sound MGB, but when you see how many pitfalls need avoiding in this book, I would say it's worth every penny. On the back cover it says "STOP! Don't buy an MGB or MGB GT without buying this book first!" - this kind of claim has become an overused cliché, but in this particular case I agree completely.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2011
The book is simple and to the point, it takes into account that you have knowledge on how a car works and you know what you are doing. This needs only to be limited knowledge. It helps you save time when you start looking as you can quickly checks the major jobs you cannot do yourself, so you can move to the next car.

I would highly recommend the book for it's information and time saving when looking at many car's
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2016
This book is about the most popular of British sports cars. It's a shame therefore, that it is one of the weakest book in the series. There is a really nothing here to make the book worth buying - any buyers guide will tell you the same, our more. Much better to spend your money on Original MGB which will tell you a lot more and help you buy the right car. The pictures here are especially bad - tiny, useless illustrations that are of bodged cars. Even the cover picture shows a car with a grill without its chrome insert. The advice is okay, but I would definitely spend your money elsewhere. This is a shame, as some of there books in this series which known are really rather good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2013
Fantastic book for knowing what to look out for. Good pictures, tick boxes so you can make sure your not buying a lemon.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2014
This little book is a really good summary of the MGB models and variants, and what to consider when you are looking to buy one. Lots of photographs and examples, together with detailed descriptions of the differences between model years and variants. A really good investment if you are thinking of getting an MGB. Would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2014
This book is aimed at the novice buyer. If you have a good basic knowledge of what to look for when buying a classic then you will not learn any real new information. The book is very sketchy on actual MGB specifics and is more generic to classic car buying in general.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2016
Very useful and comprehensive guide to knowing how to get the best you can for your money. Takes some of the guess work and wishful thinking out of the process of finding the right classic MG for you. A few quid well spent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
This little book makes lots of things clear about MGBs - what to look for and why. Plenty of information, specific and general all in one. Just take it with you when you are off to buy a GT.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2014
Book small in size and small in content than I thought expected more. Looks bigger in the photo so expected a bigger book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse