Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.1 out of 5 stars
18
3.1 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 August 2006
I was extremely disappointed in this book. The title suggest a scientific approach to football betting, but what we get is the authors loose collection of more and less interesting thoughts about betting, with the majority "less interesting". Most people who have a small interest in football betting will know his methods already, including betting on home wins, taking world class players into consideration and looking for value (although Gary does not seem to understand the concept of value very well...). Gary is also into using "the law of averages", a law which he unfortunately does not understand. I had never though I would read a "serious" betting journalist suggest a bet just because a team "is due a win". Nothing scientific about that, Gary!

Also, maybe the worst part of the book is that he explains his light collection of "strategies" using examples which we are led to believe is from his own betting. They might be, but one does not to be a betting wizard to find good reason for betting on Arsenal AFTER they have already won. Another example is that Gary does not like betting on draws, and in the book he explains this by looking at a sample of 7 (seven, yes a grand selection indeed, very scientific) of matches he himself (!) analysed could be draws, but only 2 of them ended draws, resulting in a small loss. From this, the lesson is - dont bet on draws.

No, Gary, this is not good enough. One can find far better tips on free webpages, and there are numerous betting books on Amazon that are actually good. This book is obviously written to get some easy money - far easier than from gambling.
11 Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2008
What a terribly named booked. Nothing scientific. Actually nothing which will make you any money at all. I've read every betting and gambling book on the market and this is easily the worst. Buy this book if either you want a quicker road to the poor house or if you have got bored of other close your eyes and pick a team 'scientific' approaches.........
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2007
The title kind of indicates that there may be some science in this book. Unfortunately, there is none!!! Change the title please.
I stopped reading this book when the author indicated that you should use the Law of Averages to consider your next bet. He seems to promote the Law of Averages; that is if you flip a coin and heads has come up 20 times in a row, then there is a higher probability that tails will be next!! What a lot of rubbish. Ok, the author might be good at understanding all the finer points of soccer, but he should not give betting advice based on his lack of understanding of mathematics.
Don't buy the book.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2010
This is one of the worst betting books you'll ever come across. It is HALF A CENTIMETRE in thickness and contains 89 pages of generalised advice. Please, please do not buy this!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2007
This book is simply one man's opinions on football betting. Plain and simple. There is nothing remotely scientific about it. And for the price of the book I really did expect to be receiving information or data that I have not thought of myself.

I suggest to anybody considering purchasing this book... Don't! Save your money and shop around.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2007
Not bad, but not very good either. Author bets in singles and the odd double so don't expect anything about multiples unless its advice to steer clear of them. Furthermore he bets only in the Premiership. Basically the book concentrates on single win bets in the premiership. He seems to advise some form of psychic power of deduction to predict when a team are about to lose an unbeaten run, or when a trend is about to be bucked, which, if it works for him is great, but there is no doubt that it is a road to the poor house for most punters! The whole `law of averages' thing will do the average punter more harm than good in my opinion and will more often lead to a losing bet rather than a winner as frankly, a punter can have a feeling about every game on the coupon, it doesn't mean they're right. Anyways, the author sets out some common sense thinking, and really this is nothing more than an insight into his frame of mind when he approaches a football coupon, how he picks out a bet, and how he decides to steer clear of other bets. Way too much padding, particularly in the sections about world-class players and influential players. Personally, I don't need to be told that world class players make a difference in teams and I can't see that anyone who bets seriously will need to know this either. You can never have too much information so it is worth a read, but sadly, only just!! On a 1 to 10 scale, this only reaches a 4 in my opinion.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2014
A complete waste of time and money.
If it was printed on soft paper and hung
in the toilet I,d find a use for it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2016
Bought as a present. The person loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2006
I thought this book, although a little short, was a tremendous read indeed. The author basically talks sense, for want of a better phrase, as he puts across ways to win other than just match facts and recent form. I personally would not have considered a bet in the way he does, in trying to forsee when a team is about to win and not back them because they have won a lot of games recently.

Overall extremely good value anyway and I'm sure he's right about what he says in the book, whatever I win during the football season on the back of this will be a lot more than the cost of this book! Anthony.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2015
Not a great book but arrived on time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse