Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
24
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 February 2014
I really like this book. It is slim enough to carry in your pocket and whilst its not a complete bible it does have enough of the good and bad to get you safely through the day. The water resistant covering also help since most days its damp out there.
It makes it very easy to identify mushrooms with clear pictures, seasonal growth times and likely habitats for the particular mushroom.
It also clearly cautons you if there is a possible confusion between an edible and poisonous mushrroom.
I would thoroughly recomment this to anyone, even experienced pickers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2013
Easy to follow guidance,but detailed information, so ideal for a novice or a more experienced observer. Good quality photos and ideal size to slip into the pocket for those woodland or field- side walks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2012
Upon first glance, this book is great, but after actually trying to use it, I find it very frustrating. First the words used to describe the specimens are not consistent. Next, when they show or discuss the similar specimens, they fail to mention whether those mushrooms are actually edible or poisonous, which is good information to have easily accessible. It seems like a fairly novice attempt to make a book about mushrooms, but it needed an editor with a keener eye for detail, essential for this hobby.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2010
This is an excellent work for enthusiasts and proffesionals alike. The content is very clear and concise and helps identification. Its well protected with its plastic cover and fits neatly into pannier bags or jacket and will last a long time too. A word of warning though. Mushrooms differen slightly in appearance from region to region and indeed country to country so do make sure that you have a good encyclopedia of mushrooms to hand when you get back. I use two to be sure of what I have before following Antonio or other wild food chefs recipes as well as my own.

Philip55
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2010
My son has thoroughly enjoyed taking this book out into the countryside here in France and looking at all the different types of mushrooms.
When the local farmer comes with mushrooms now at least I know what they are!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2013
Good photographs and a simple description enables readers to identify fungi. Very useful for the beginner but I am not sure that I would rely on it if I was trying to forage for food.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
This is an excellent reference book for woodland walkers and field ramblers - 5 stars for textual brevity, photographic clarity and user friendliness
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2016
Exactly what I needed, a truly comprehensive guide, amazing detail....
PS you still need to know what you're looking for ;-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2014
A very informative book for any one interested in fungi or mushrooms very detailed information on wether they edible or toxic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
have know idea what the person i gave the book to is doing with it now,has moved on and has got other books on fungi
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)