Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
21
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£26.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 October 2013
Kerry Taylor is a world-renowned expert on both fashion history and textiles. For any lover of fashion, this book provides both a general guide useful to beginners and enough unusual detail to keep even the more experienced collector interested. Drawing on the vast store of images of things which she has sold in her eponymous auction house, Ms Taylor illustrates her expertise with great skill and, in doing so, avoids the over-used stock images most often relied upon in books looking at vintage fashion. No matter how many books you might already have on the subject, there are things in this book which will be new to you and Ms Taylor's direct yet friendly approach in her text is as engaging as she is on the rostrum.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
There is no-one else living that knows more about vintage couture, which is evident from only a cursory glance through the pages of this book. A must buy for any real collectors out there
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2014
The title, cover jacket and all the wonderful reviews enticed me to buy this book. The good things about it, different to most books on fashion, was that each decade is illustrated by a personality wearing the clothes, such as the Duchess of Windsor, Bianca Jagger and a great photo of Vivienne Westwood. The text outlined the context of the day as well as developments in fabric and technique. It interestingly set out what a woman would wear or what the constraints were at the time.

As a basic survey of 20Cth designers it was ok, but the photos were not especially well chosen, neither were the clothes. Zandra Rhodes' dresses in real life were magical and ethereal, but the photos don't show this. It was very ordinary and didn't tell me anything I didn't already know. I was disappointed and wouldn't have bought it if I'd seen it first. I enjoyed Christopher Kane's prologue.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 19 November 2015
This tells the story of fashion through the work of key designers and some of the memorable women who have worn their designs. It looks at a dazzling range of clothes and accessories, explaining what made them so desirable and why they were important for the fashion world. It looks at a designers' influence on the historical world of fashion.

The author, an expert on vintage fashion, organizes the book by decade with each chapter focusing on a number of important designers and style icons. Fashion pieces are shown in colour photographs with good descriptive captions. It should be noted that not all the information in the book is factually accurate (important if you are a fashion student), but don't let that put you off as it's still an interesting and informative work.

All the big European names are here, but I feel the book also needed more reference to historical American designers and the Hollywood costume designers influences. The book looks at many couturiers, fashion and textile designers from early designers like Poiret, Patou, Fortuny, Vionnet and Lanvin to Comme des Garcons, Vivienne Westwood, John Galliano and Jean Paul Gaultier to name only a very few.

The final section, ‘Buying Vintage’, is an inside look in which the author, reveals how and where to buy the best vintage pieces, as well as how to spot fakes and forgeries.

If you want to look at fashion as a whole, you will like this book, but as I’m greedy, for me it needed to be longer with more pictures as there are only a few to cover each decade. All that said, this book provides a general guide useful for beginners and gives enough detail to keep the more experienced fashion enthusiast and collector interested.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
Bought this book for my sister who loves fashion old and new. Was attracted by the luxurious up-close pictures of materials and clothes by Poiret and the like. She is very taken with it and finds it hard to put down.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2014
I bought 2 copies of this book - one for my daughter & one for my friend's daughter. They are both doing A level Textiles. They absolutely love the book. It's really interesting, beautifully presented & a great resource for their A level course.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2015
Beautiful book and a lovely gift, my friend was over the moon! Really well packed.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
Wonderful clothes beautifully presented and fascinating insights into various fashion icons of the 20th century. I love this book! Amazon did not disappoint this time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2014
You will love this book, very good fashion plates. The designer information is very good and interesting. Very good advice on sourcing and care of vintage clothing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2014
A thorough history of fashion, detailed and with superb photos from Kerry Taylors archives in her auction house. Really enjoyable and a great reference work
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)