Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tom Chaplin Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

  • Pie
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
62
4.6 out of 5 stars
Pie
Format: Hardcover|Change


on 6 December 2011
This is a nicely presented book with what looks like real recipes and inspirational ideas. However one does get a sneaking feeling that some of the recipes are derived from elsewhere. Hard pressed to describe it as a recipe book as it could as easily be described as a 'coffee-table' book. This does not in any way detract from its usefulness, and the illustrations are good. I have found it useful, especially re the 'Noble Pie' recipes, and I would recommend it for anyone with an interest in making pies.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2008
I had never made pastry in my life before getting this book - in less than 3 months, I am now fairly confident with most single and double crust pies - sweet and savoury.

The most helpful factor from this book aiding my pie making was the early chapters on equipment and pastry recipes. The recipes are clearly laid out and state exactly the size and shape of the pie plate / container needed to cook with. This did mean having to spend a few extra pennies on 'tools for the job' but the final result makes this worthwhile.

Almost all the recipes are cleverly and beautifully illustrated. Love it - in my humble opinion, nearly faultless.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2014
Already had this book in paperback - bought hardback for a relative's Christmas present. After reading all the latest chef books from the last 20 years this book takes you back to basics - exactly how I used to bake pies/pastry 40 years ago, and forgotten because of following the last craze/chef. I use it all the time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2010
Bought for a present ideal recipe book beginning all details explained about making pastry and what is needed and then into recipes for pie ideas some excellent recipes yet to try them all. Anyone looking at this book and debating whether to buy please do you will be pleased.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2013
I've got this as a gift for someone. They love pies especially savoury which are the bulk recipes in the book. It has loads of interesting recipes to choose from. Simple to follow and offers a variety of pastries to use as well. I almost want to keep it for myself!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2010
This book is the best Pie book ever full of easy to follow recipes. With stories you can clearley see the author loves making pies and wants to share her love for pie making.it's that good i'm going to buy it for my sister who is very fussy.BUY IT
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2011
Overall a useful book as it features a variety of pie recipes that rate from simple to advanced, great illustrations and very readable. I would recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2013
A great book if you are into savouries clear precise recipes with good graphics. Company were very quick to process the order
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2013
A buy for my daughters Christmas present, having received one myself last year, and she is thrilled to bits with it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
Bought this for my daughter and she has already started on some of the recipes and thinks it is very good value
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)