Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Pitt Cue Co. - The Cookbook
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£17.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 15 March 2017
Great book, although the recipes are a little complicated on some and not your typical traditional food, that's what makes it so good. The rubs are easy to make and well worth it! I follow McKinleys Kitchen on YouTube and this book is also recommended by them and use some of these recipes for their videos so you can see how its made. I have a Big Green Egg so smoking, low and slow is the way to go for me
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 February 2016
I enjoyed this book and have made several recipes, despite not owning any kind of barbecue.

A large part of the book is devoted to cocktails, sauces, slaws and desserts, all of which can be made in a small apartment kitchen. Standout recipes were Pitt Cue's take on the New York Sour cocktail and their Chipotle and Confit Garlic Slaw. These on their own made the book worth the price for me.

Although the remainder of the recipes do require an American style barbecue, there is still a lot that can be adapted to slow cooking meat in a domestic oven. It is also enjoyable to read how this kind of food is made if you are a fan of the restaurant like I am.

My only criticism would be that some recipes are inexact (e.g. specifying 1/2 a cabbage or 1/2 a bunch of something without any indication of the weight).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 October 2017
This book is for serious barbecue fans. Although the instructions and recipes are detailed the authors make it clear that this is often a case of trial and error and with many smokes taking several hours that's a lot of effort, but then nothing great ever came easy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2016
Really great quality books that contact a wealth of ideas for great BBQ and pig based cuisine. Nothing about these menus is easy or quick (at least not for my moderately low level of ability and experience) but if you fancy something different and tasty - and are not averse to trying new things - then I highly recommend these books as a great addition to the foodies library..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 May 2017
A really great book , not a fan of the phrase "food porn" but this book makes me want to try every single recipe , can't recommend it highly enough , some recipes are quite long ingredients wise but well worth the effort 👏👏👏
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 February 2015
Bought this for my nephew as it was on his Christmas wish list. He's over the moon with it - I think he's found it a little hard to source a couple of items for the recipes, especially the cocktails as it is largely American-orientated. But. with a little planning he's managed to source them from Amazon, so job done!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 September 2015
This book is an amazing read but would I actually attempt any of the recipes? I am not sure as they are very technical and there is nothing worse than following a recipe and there is another recipe to follow, like a recipe within a recipe I.e add brine (see page 64). I definitely will be visiting their gaff in Soho though...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 December 2015
I bought this because I love BBQ'ing but had got sick of cooking the same things. This book has everything you could want from advice on setting up the BBQ to basic and complex/advanced recipes. Some of the recipes look a little daunting due to the number of ingredients but you'll use most of them time and time again so don't let that put you off. The actual cooking is pretty straight forward. You've got to make the chipotle ketchup - its the best I've tasted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 September 2015
Great book easy to follow. I had a bbq for 40 people and put my faith in the book. The pulled pork was amazing as was the slaw and burgers. The chipotle ketchup and be sauce is amazing and we put it in jars to keep. Only down side is a lack of chicken recipes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 March 2017
Amazing food from an amazing restaurant-

We keep pigs and use the 2 pitt cue books regularly
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)