Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 17 August 2016
I am a newcomer to Diana Henry's books but from the strength of this first purchase I have already ordered 2 more.
The book itself is fascinating - not just a recipe book but a bit of background, reflections and stories from the author peppered with quotes from the likes of folks as diverse as Laura Ingalls Wilder and Nora Ephron. Makes for something you want to curl up and read whilst thinking about planning your menu. (Reminiscent of Nigel Slater kitchen diaries).
Lovely photos sprinkled through it too to further inspire.
Loving it. The flavours jump off the page - I think the Roast Beetroot Salad is going to be great alongside Gorgonzola and Pumpkin tarts with Spinach. The prospect of Winter just got a lot less boring in my house!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 November 2011
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )|Verified Purchase
Diana Henry is my favourite cookery writer, she's pragmatic and easy to follow and I absolutely loved Cook Simple: Effortless Cooking Every Day

This is a step on in complexity from Cook Simple, but still very easy to follow and with reliable results. Its also a very beautifully illustrated book and a good read to curl up with.

The recipes are drawn from countries which experience extreme cold weather - Canada, New England, Scandinavia and Russia, I'm inspired to make Georgian cheese pies and Tartiflette; the plum slices and the beef pie which guarantees that everyone who tastes it will fall in love with you were delicious.

A gorgeous book, I've already ordered another copy as a present for a foodie friend. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 August 2014
This book is full of unusual recipes, to impress your friends.It covers traditional recipes from Rural Europe and Amarica. Some of the ingredients are things you may not be able to purchase in the supermarket. But do not worry, I have used alternatives or exchanged fresh for frozen or canned. I may not follow all the recipees to the tee, but they have given me inspirational ideas. It is a good book for people who are bored by the everyday stuff we are presented with, or the pretenciousness of todays chefs, but the recipes are simple enough to follow and create in your kitchen. It has a depth and feeling to it with the recipes having a story from where they are from and when they were eaten. You can take yourself to the place and time and imagine the local people sitting around a table eating the dish. A great book for people interested in real food.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 December 2010
This really is a lovely book. I am a recipe/lifestyle book junky and this is lovely to look at, read and use. If you are a beginner don't bother, but if you love recipes you will love this book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 December 2015
excellent recomended many thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 February 2015
Great recipes. Love this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 November 2013
I have her book Plenty and love her style. Recipes are interesting and easy to follow. Along with Tessa Kiros one of my favourite cookery writers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 February 2008
There are not many books that I would cook a whole dinner party from without doing a trial run. This is the only one I can think of. I totally respect Diana Henry for her brilliant, beautiful book and her delicious recipes. Really she is far more reliable than Jamie Oliver and Nigella Lawson, and in fact surpasses Delia Smith too in my opinion. Absolutely delicious. Try the roast squash with porcini cream. Very, very easy, sublimely delicious.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICETOP 500 REVIEWERon 3 December 2011
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a beautiful book. The production standard is high. The pictures are beautiful. The layout is great. It is a delightful thing. The premise of the book is to offer the cook a good selection of hearty, winter recipes from all over the world. There is everything you could want to make your winter,and particularly your festive season, go with a very unusual bang. If you like wintery dishes and you want something new I heartily recommend it. The recipes are easy to follow and the instructions are clear.

The layout is not very intuitive in terms of how the recipes are arranged, and I found myself hunting about for things a few times, but as the book is not enormous this is not too much of a problem and the index is very straightforward, unlike say Nigella Lawson's latest books, which have two indexes just to make it doubly hard to find things.

The book is not for the novice cook, not because it is particularly difficult to follow, although some of the recipes have lots of steps to them and involve a fair amount of marinading and/or waiting around, but none of the recipes are 'safe' or old favourites. It would work wonderfully for an established cook who is looking for something fresh to do.

My one criticism is that quite a few of the recipes call for meat in fairly substantial quantities, and because it is a winter cook book there is a fair amount of game and meats which are not cheap. I made the roast duck breasts which were marinaded in honey with figs and roasted chestnuts and by the time I had made it for my family the dish cost about £25. Great for a treat, but not for every day use. Having said that there are recipes which involve less exalted ingredients and simpler things to try if you want. My family weren't keen because it turns out they don't particularly like things with cranberries and figs and chestnuts etc in, so it's not going to be a firm family favourite in our house, but if you are drawn to these kinds of flavours, this book will be a wonderful experience for you.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 January 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The author Diana Henry is highly regarded by her peers and was awarded the Cookery Writer of the Year Award by the Guild of Food Writers in 2009. A glance at the dishes in this book leaves you in no doubt why.

The recipes are for winter dishes and come from the temperate / colder parts of the world such as Scandinavia, Northern Italy, Russia, Eastern Europe and the UK.

A particularly pleasing aspect is that the ingredients in most of the recipes are familiar and readily available in supermarkets and the High St. You won't spend time checking internet sites trying to identify obscure spices or fruits and wondering where to find them.

I have only tried a couple of the dishes so far but it appears that the recipes actually work and the end product looks as enticing as the photograph on the page and tastes just as described.

Although the food is of the cold-weather comforting variety it avoids the type of cliche-ridden stodgy dishes usually associated with that type of cuisine even the stews and pies are different and imaginatively put together.

Thoroughly recommended as a guide to heart and soul-warming winter food that will both impress your dinner guests and prove relatively easy to prepare.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)