Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 February 2010
This book is one of the best BBCs efforts.It deals with 6 natural events which are;
1 the great flood-the Okavanga Delta.
2 the great feast-south east Alaska.
3 the great migration-the Serengeti.
4 the great melt-the Arctic.
5 the great salmon run-British Columbia.
6 the great tide-South Africa coast.
There are 6 authors one for each event all are very well written and researched.The majority of pictures are excellent but unfortunately a few are spread over 2 pages which destroys their impact.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2009
This book is a real treat for any age. I read it, my husband reads it, but it was bought for my 5 year old son who loved the TV programme. The pictures are really amazing and the text is very informative. Recomended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2010
although this is an informative book , its strength is in the stunning illustrations which are some of the best I have come across and really do show some extraordinary events
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This book accompanied a nature documentary series that I did not see, but stands alone on its own merit. It covers six different natural events that in some way involve migration, although not all of them follow the migration. Sometimes, the chapter focuses on a particular area, showing what the area is like in different seasons. Three of the chapters focus on Africa while the other three focus on North America.

The Okavango delta in Botswana is a very bizarre place, even by the standards of the natural world. It is not unusual for a river flowing through a country with a hot climate to evaporate before it gets anywhere near the sea, but in the case of the Okavango, it produces some extraordinary seasonal changes.

Another of the African chapters focuses on the Serengeti, initially describing the movements of the wildebeest herds. However, the main focus here is on some lions. The feed on wildebeests when they are available, but do not follow the wildebeest on their migrations. During the periods when the wildebeests are away, they sometimes find survival hard. The production team had a bit more variety than they expected, with a volcanic eruption occurring while they were filming.

This book is fascinating, with plenty of great pictures as well as much to read about. Personally, I think the book would have been even better with a wider spread around the world, with at least one chapter involving Europe. However, I still love this book for what it is.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2009
A beautifully presented book, with stunning photographs, well worth a look,well written to, doesnt waffle beyond the subject, if the book is this good,am definatley thinking about purchasing the DVD
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
Book received promptly and in condition stated. This was bought as part of a young person's Christmas gift so not read by me, therefore cannot comment on content.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2015
This book is about the filming of the television series, rather than about the natural events themselves.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2009
Adored the series... couldn't resist the book! It's a present for my husband, so I can't wait to look through it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
Great book speedy delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£27.00
£21.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)