Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
121
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 March 2012
I received this book as a birthday present, and it's really interesting, very inspirational.
His pictures are fabulous! and the step-by-step instructions are excellent
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2012
Great book for sour dough bread, interesting background, well explained recipes from all over Europe. I've yet to have a failure with a Dan Lepard recipe.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2013
Friend very pleased with the wide choise of receipes and enjoying using it. Would recommend to others interested in different breads.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2015
Really nicely written, Dan is obviously passionate about making bread. Have made one of the recipes.. yum!
review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2012
There's some fascinating material in this book and some unusual recipes. On the downside the focus is very much towards the unusual (just a few more basic bread recipes would be handy) and there's an annoyingly vague way of alluding to some of the processes without stating them clearly and explicitly e.g. Lepard has his own kneading process but you have to tease out from rather discursive paragraphs what the timings need to be - a few summary boxes and/or bullet points would disproportionately help.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2013
Have only made one recipe as the sour dough looks complicated to make. I usually just mix yeast water and rye flour and leave it 24 hours to sour, so may continue with my old way. Looking forward to be more adventurous.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
After reading the reviews, this booked looked like a good fit for me. I do not like to use yeast in recipes and was looking for a diverse selection of sourdough recipes from the standard. It is a good read however I have tried very few of the recipes due to the use of commercial yeast.
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2010
I love this book. It is clearly written, the pictures are beautiful, and the recipes are easy to follow. I agree with other reviewers, a lot of recipes use leaven, which has to be made separately, but the instructions for preparing it are also clear and well illustrated at the beginning of the book. My favourites use the normal yeast: butter rolls (never have I seen such an easy recipe for them!) and breadsticks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2006
Spendid photography, interesting chatty prose ... but every recipe seems to call for an entire day's work?! I mean, for example you prepare the dough, then you knead it for one minute (yes, one), then you leave it for an hour (or two or three) ... then you go back and knead it again for another minute (just one), then you leave it again for another hour, then you go back and knead it again, and so on and so forth ... until before you know it eight hours have gone by and you've been running to and from the kitchen the whole day! What do you do with the "in-between" times hmm? Not a book for the casual baker. Though it could possibly work for serious bakers who have other loaves to knead and prove, or cakes to bake, etc thereby providing a "factory conveyor belt" system for working.
44 comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
Excellent book, bought for my husband as he is the breadmaker and it has great easy to follow recipes, many tips and hints and shortcuts. Would recommend it for your book shelf.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)