Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

The Mammoth Book of Cover-Ups
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 27 May 2010
This book goes into absolutley no-depth whatsoever about the many popular conspiracy theories it lists, most entries getting little more than a page and a half coverage, and even then most of them are described in a wry, condecending way almost as if the author is trying to ridicule and debunk every conspiracy theory going. He refers to David Icke, a very intelligent and erudite speaker who has done enourmous amounts of research on his topics, as 'a nut' and such intriguing conspiracy topics as chemtrails, HAARP, Area 51, Hollow Earth, reptillians, and the face on mars are given cursory mentions and a rating system that suggests they're all a load of balony.
If you're interested in conspiracy theories then avoid this book. It's a complete waste of trees.
99 Comments| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 June 2011
For the information of those who are seeking in depth stories about conspiracy theories, this is not a book that consists of detailed descriptions but a Mammoth Book Series which is a collection of incidents, events and mysteries what could've or couldn't have happened with some of them having evidentiary documents from various resources. 100 topics can not be covered in 541 half the A4 size pages in detail.

Although this book now gets its place in that little shelf in my home mini library, I am not giving it 5 stars for a reason.

Why do I like this book ?

I am a huge fan of X-Files (the TV series and movies). Aliens, UFOs and Flying Saucers are the stories I was made to believe from childhood. True or not, I like them. And this book has some of those - Alien Abduction, Area 51, Crop Circles, Face On Mars, Men In Black, Roswell and etc.

True or not, I wonder about stories about Secret Societies. And some of those are here too - Babylonian Brotherhood, Bohemian Grove, Freemasons, Illuminati, Knights Templar, New World Order, Opus Dei, Priory Of Sion, Protocols Of The Learned Elders Of Zion, Skull And Bones and etc.

True or not, stories that fascinate me are what conspiracy theorists come up with against what the News or the governments say - Diana Princess Of Wales, Pope John Paul I, John F. Kennedy, Robert F. Kennedy, Martin Luther King, John Lennon, Marilyn Monroe, Elvis Presley, Ronald Reagan, 9/11, 7/7 and etc.

And also some of the stories which we never thought or could be bothered about - American MIA in Vietnam, Barcodes, British Royal Family, Bush-Bin Laden connection, Cancer, Gun Powder Plot, HAARP, HIV/AIDS, Holocaust Denial, Marijuana, Moon Landing Hoax, Pearl Harbour, Titanic and etc. True or not, but they are good stories to read or listen to or watch in movies.

What I hate in this book -

Well ! The reason is personal. I think this book is not balanced. Most of the subjects of my interest are briefly described in 1 or 2 pages in shallow. And the boring ones like BCCI, Bilderberg Group, Vincent Foster, Gemstone File, Rudolf Hess, Iran-Contra Scandal, Alexander Litvinenko and etc. go on and on for 6-12 pages with supporting evidential files. I just jump. And bloody 46 pages on JFK alone? But some readers may find them interesting.

Some topics, for instance, Hollow Earth and etc. are crazy enough. In my opinion they should not be in this book at all. Instead, why not have included stories from all around that shocked the world once ? - Disappearance of ships and aeroplanes in Bermuda Triangle, little greenmen, mysterious death of Bruce Lee and his son Brandon Lee, aftermath of 1972 Olympic, Royal Family massacre in Nepal, assassination of the world's famous man Mahatma Gandhi, American invasion in Afghanistan and Iraq and all those stories we've heard or read from elsewhere.

Anyway, it is overall a good book to read for a good time pass. I was reading it continuously at morning tea, meal breaks and bed time. I had to order 2 more from Amazon at good price for colleagues. Friends who borrowed or glanced liked it and said they are going to buy too. All of their views about this book are as same as mine.

At the end of every topic, there are lists of books and websites for further reading or where the subject is taken from. Alert level is given to each from zero being least likely to believe to 10 being most likely to believe. Believing or not believing is a choice. As Jon E. Lewis, the writer writes at the end of Introduction - But this is only an indication. The reader must make up his or her own mind. It's only them who tell you what you must believe.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 February 2011
Bravo! Whereas this book does not go into great depth in evaluating individual conspiracy theories, it is an indispensible index in the library of those not easily fooled by surreptitious explanations of murders in the public forum. What's more, it serves another purpose. In bringing all of them together in one place one can see a remarkable consistency in many of them.

For example, the most credible case for the JFK cover-up JFK and the Unspeakable: Why He Died and Why it Matters presents compelling evidence the CIA orchestrated his assassination to head off his intent to pull out of Vietnam. Likewise, the most credible case for the John Paul I assassination Murder in the Vatican: The CIA and the Bolshevik Pontiff presents much more than compelling proof the CIA orchestrated his murder when he moved to give financial (arms) support to revolutionaries in Central America who were fighting an uphill struggle against the coalition of the United States and ruling juntas.

Even for those who have spent a lifetime preoccupied with one or more of these cover-ups as I have, The Mammoth Book of Cover-Ups: 100 Most Disturbing Conspiracies of all Time reveals great similarity in many of them through the years. Start with this one as it raises the questions. Then go on to others for the answers.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 May 2017
Not only is each 'conspiracy' given 1/2 pages MAX before its on to the next one, the title is misleading, because in reality its a mammoth book of debunking, no investigation or even an in depth look at each case. Its literally a page or two for each 'conspiracy' and every single one ends in 'debunking' - This book is going in the recycling trash can. Don't waste your money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 February 2010
This is very disapointing: superficial and poorly collated. If you are already familiar with the topics, there is nothing new and much omitted. If you are unfamiliar, many relevant pros and cons of each 'theory' are omitted e.g. the fascinating basis and detail of 'Moon Hoax' and 'Holocaust Denial' arguments. Some fun searching on the web easilly transcends the level and content assembled here. Particularly unclear is the 'score' ('alert level') for ?likelihood of authenticity, which is neither clearly explained or rationalised in each case. Nor is there any discussion or analysis of what constitutes a 'cover up' or 'conspiracy theory'. So the collection includes proven factual events ('Iran Contras') and the entirely theoretical (Nazi Moon Base, Corn Circles). Many of the suspected dirty deeds and false flags of recent foreign policy are omitted completely (Florida elections? Gulf of Tonkin? East Timors oil? etc) at the expense of rehashed and superficial regurgitations of popular 'conspiracy theory' favourites (Munroe, Diana, JFK etc).
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 March 2013
Well worth a read as it brings up some possible coverups you might not have heard of. However, to dismiss 9-11 conspiracy in a short chapter was not wise - you'd need a library of books to attempt that and you'd probably change your mind.It does introduce some interesting conspiracies. Let's face it powerful people joining together secretly to further their own causes despite awful implications for other people or society in general and covering it up is not wild thinking - it's daring to look at the truth without preconceptions. I recommend Ian R Crane's work if you really want to delve into the rabbit hole but don't expect your world view to be as comfortable as before.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 August 2013
I found that I have always had some interest in conspiracy theory, not as a believer but out of interest and potential. The book speeds over some conspiracies yet other are covered in great detail. It allocates a level of threat or potential to each case and in some cases put up some good pros and cons in a short succinct direct manner and recommends further reading if something flips your switch. An interest but not a thrilling book that captivated me. true believers in conspiracy would probably find this more interesting than I did.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 July 2013
This book contains some conspiracy and their resultant cover ups that I had read about,and some I had not. Some of the subjects are only a page or two long, and in my opinion they could do with being longer. The author dose include a list of books and web sites to read for further information at the end of each cover up. I also like the authors alert statuses at the end of each cover up. All in all a book for people looking to get started or for a grounding in conspiracies and their cover ups.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 November 2013
Good book with a lot of information that I didn't recognise. Like the other books from this author a basic guide to learning what THEY are doing to us but also significantly sceptical. One of his stories involves a student falling down a hole at the Crystal Palace and finding a train carriage complete with dead Victorians. Whether the train exists I don't know but the named student certainly wasn't born within two years of when she was reported to be. Looks like fiction to me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 September 2017
Dreadful book. If you are a conspiracy theorist and expect this book to back up your theories, save your money; it appears to be more about diluting and debunking the theories. Waste of money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)