Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Shop now Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 October 2003
The Emersons are back in Egypt, the First World War is raging elsewhere and there is a dead body in a tomb ... typical Amelia Peabody territory.
If you've read the others you will love this one. All the usual characters are with us from Gargery the strange and unusual butler to Sethos the embarrassing illegitimate brother. Ramses and Nefret rejoice in married bliss (although it is very interesting to re-read the earlier books and see the changes in Ramses' character to make him a more useful, all round hero)and Amelia is still having dreams of Abdullah.
The villain in this novel is not the usual master criminal but the British Army and their attempts to involve Ramses in what they are doing. This is one plot line, the discovery of a new tomb replete with treasure is the other.
Maybe Amelia and Emerson are becoming unbelievable at times, but, what the hell .... this novel is funny, well written and enjoyable ... not one of the best in the series but head and shoulders above much else that is written these days !!
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2014
I am sad getting near the end of this series of books . We meet the third generation of the family and , needless to say , they are as colourful as the rest . I have never been to Egypt , but feel as if I have seen the pyramids through Ms Peters eyes . The mystery murder and general mayhem continue to enthral .... enjoy xxx
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2002
One again Peters has written a book a that I couldn't put down. A fan of the Amelia Peabody fan I look forward to each installment and she does not let me down. The family continues to expand, mystery continues to stop Emerson excavating and the mysterious Sethos continues to surprise. As always a fantastic read a must for lovers of the series.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 3 February 2014
Another ripping yarn or as Abdullah says another year, another body. Ms Peters has managed another tall tale of mayhem. The Emersons and Vandergelts are on the hunt for hidden treasure when Ramses is not undertaking more work for the Intelligence (sic) services. It is all very good clean fun and a joy to read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2013
Just love the whole series, can't stop reading them, I love the setting of Egypt. I do love books with a bit of history in them too
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2015
Jolly fun in Edwardian Egypt. Puzzles to solve, villains to catch & treasures to be uncovered. Every now & then the voice is not authentically British (railroad, rather than railway stations, a lack of prepositions & other things which the spell check will not allow me to enter!) but that has not spoilt the stories.
My only complaint, as always with Kindle, is that there is no facility to find out the number of a book in a series (unless it has a very short title) so that a series can be read in order.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Elizabeth Peters was born and brought up in Illinois and earned her Ph.D. in Egyptology from the University of Chicago's famed Oriental Institute. Peters was named Grand Master at the inaugural Anthony Awards in 1986 and Grand Master by the Mystery Writers of America at the Edgar Awards in 1998. She lives in a historic farmhouse in western Maryland.

The Amelia Peabody books may or may not be an acquired taste, personally I love them. They are set in Victorian times when there were still very strict rules of etiquette and polite behaviour was the norm. Although most of the books are set in Egypt, in the desert under very trying conditions and extremely hot weather the `English' way of life was still expected to be adhered to, sometimes with quite hilarious consequences.

Amelia Peabody is Elizabeth Peters' best loved and brilliant creation, a thoroughly Victorian feminist who takes the stuffy world of archaeology by storm with her no nonsense dress sense and forthright opinions.

This book brings us right into the middle of the First World War, but despite the winter storms and the prospect of German submarines prowling the seas Amelia, Emerson, Ramses and his beautiful wife Nefret are more than ready to head for another season of excavation in Egypt.

Emerson is hoping that the troubles that seem to follow Amelia wherever she goes will not materialise this year and that he can get on with his excavations with little or no distraction, but secretly he knows that it is highly unlikely.. Once more the family find a dead body, but in this case not a mummy, but a recently killed one. As if that is not enough Nefret reveals a secret that she has until now kept hidden . . .
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2013
I always enjoy books written by this author and this book
is no exception. Once you have read one of her books
You have to read them all.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
I am mad about Egypt and its history and to have such wonderful characters and animals just makes its perfect. I have them all on my Kindle and woud now like tohave the actual books as I would read them again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2012
I have now read the whole series. I enjoyed every one. Some are better than others but I felt a sense of great loss when there were no more. This is not great literature but it is great fun. I have been one of the irritating tourists in Egypt and loved recognising events and sites I had seen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse