Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
31
4.7 out of 5 stars
The Somme
Format: Hardcover|Change


on 27 November 2013
This book was delivered quickly and securely packed. The standard of information, photography and layout is excellent. I would recommend to anyone with interest in history or military. Not too overpowering in the technical info.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2008
I live in Belgium and I visited the Somme with this book this morning with my sons. The panoramas are awesome. The accounts of each stage of the fighting are well written and extremely informative. It brought our visit to life! I highly recommend this book to anyone who is thinking of visiting the Somme.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
Excellent book, up to now you could only imagine what it may have been like, the personal accounts and back round are brilliant. I only recently learned that my grandfather was a soldier in WW1 & fought in the battle of the Somme so I find this book fascinating
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2011
This book is a must for all armchair historians of the Great War. Some simply stunning photographs supported by the text of a campaign written about on countless occassions but manage to show it's horrors from a quite unique perspective. Highly reccomended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2013
Very well documented. A very good book about one of the darkest periods in human existance. The maps are very clear and the panorama pictures give a very clear view on the scene. The personal letters give a view inside the life and death in the trenches.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2014
As with all books in this series, an excellent informative book with panoramic photographs. Superb quality and worth every penny, though it might be considered expensive it is value for money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A big subject covered by an expert in his field who writes very well. Just got back from La Boisselle and met Peter at the Glory Hole with the La Boisselle Study Group
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2012
A most interesting book a must read if you have an interest in WW1 I would recommend it for the information and the pictures are excellent,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2014
A Bible for Somme scholars which along with the 'Middlebrook' publication leaves nothing out.
The man is a master at detail.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
probably one of the best and informative books of the somme, pictures now and then were quite extrodinary,a must read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)