Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 15 May 2016
Not the best in the series. The atmosphere of the late 1930s is still well done and the working of the eugenics theme is good, bearing in mind what a tricky topic it was proving to be for European countries in the 1920s and 30s. Verity does not seem to add much to this book, rather portrayed as an immature teenager rather than a mature women reporter. The ending is a bit limp. If you want to read one of the books for the first time, it might be best not to pick this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 March 2014
I have purchased the entire series and up until now have really enjoyed every book. This book I found to be disappointing and I feel the story although good was really long winded and quite monotonous in places. I will read the rest of the series as the others were fantastic. If you want read the series buy it, if you want to read one or two then I recommend reading one of the earlier books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 April 2012
David Roberts writes very much in the style of Dorothy Sayers when she depicted her Lord Peter Wimsey. He and Harriet are mirrored by Lord Corinth and his side-kick. However the time is before the Second World war and includes a great deal of the history of the causes in accurate detail, including the Spanish Civil War. The mysteries are plausible and gripping. The series needs to be read in the order of writing to gain the best effect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 October 2013
These are the acceptable face of crime fiction but are often just want you want between some more violent ones and are enjoyable.
I also rather like the dated aspect which does away with the worry about just how possible the story lines are.
But do not ignore them they are worth reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 November 2013
Really reflects the atmosphere in the build up to the 2nd World War as the backdrop to this detective story, with good coverage of some important events explained, which, for those who know less about the time, would be useful. Further development of the relationship between Verity and Edward
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 February 2014
But I do love them. Fascinating characters, a deep sense of place and of time,combined with an insight into the historical machinations leading up to the second World war,make this a literary novel. I don't even care 'who done it'. I do care about the characters and the challenges they face.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 August 2013
Adequate plot, well written, well edited, like all the David Roberts stories. As usual the story is pretty well padded out to achieve an acceptable length, but that is true of most crime stories, and here it is very competently done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 August 2013
A fast moving adventure story, well researched. The decades after the first world war are captured well. The inclusion of real people brings a reality to the story. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 November 2015
really good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 September 2016
Great book great service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse