Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Kesha Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 September 2012
As an avowed Indiaphile, I loved this! The story is set in a palace, during the final days of British rule, and the story rollocks along at a good pace with interesting twists and turns --- full of surprises and dark deeds...
Barbara Cleverly has a gift for setting the scene in period - and this little story is full of details true to the times.
For someone who enjoys the exotic side of Indian history - no question! Get it!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2004
Having already read the three previous titles in the Joe Sandilands series, I was very much looking forward to this, the latest installment.Ms.Cleverly has come up with another winner, the sense of time and place is magical, with a plot that twists and turns like a corkscrew.
Do yourself a favour - go back to the beginning and start with 'Last Kashmiri Rose'- then read them all. You'll be hooked too. Roll on the next one in the series !!
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2013
A tale of colonial India. Very slow to start but once you get into the story Irish real who dunnit, a very enjoyable read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
I enjoyed it but thought the characters and story not as well thought out or likeable as the first in the series which I read immediately before this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2005
i enjoyed this book very much. it kept me guessing 'til the end, and maybe i missed the clues but i hadn't sussed whodunnit, but didn't feel cheated that i hadn't suspected the guilty party as i found it quite plausible. i've enjoyed the books being set in india as it's a peek into another world and time. i'm disappointed the next is set in the uk, but no doubt once i find the time to start it will be as hooked as i have been by cleverly's writing.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
This is a five star read. The descriptions of India and the period setting conjour up images and aromas to take you into the world of Joe Sandilands and his investigations. The way of life of the Raj and the British diplomats and their wives abroad are beautifully portrayed and intrigue abounds in both quarters to keep Joe on his guard. The characters dance before your eyes, some vivacious, others sad and still more with their secrets, and yet sometimes so subtly introduced you feel you know them intimately from the briefest of meetings. The plot unfolds with pace but is not rushed and allows you to assimilate the information that Joe is acquiring and form your own judgements. I find the series intriguing am always left with the need for more.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
Where have these books been? I'd never come across Barbara Cleverly before and now am hooked! Why hasn't Joe Sandilands made it onto the screen? Great characters, well paced, and, in this case, a superb insight into the politics of the Raj - other books in the series are set in other countries - and has all the timeless elegance of Agatha Christie with a bit more depth and bite.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
This story held a special interest for me as my mother was born in India and my grandfather served there during this period. The plot was somewhat complicated and with the Indian names one had to concentrate on who did what. An intriguing story with details of the lifestyle in India during the 1920s.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2013
The author of this book appears to be intimately acquainted with India during the latter part of the Raj and has crafted a believable narrative containing a miscellany of believable characters. At first the narrative seemed too detailed and ponderous but the story soon gripped me and I found the book difficult to put down. This is a good solid and enjoyable read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2013
In addition to the agreeable presence of Sandilands, and his sleuthing, this novel gave a very interesting glimpse into Northern Indian culture & habits till after the Great War...specially those related to "royalty", the "guiding" hands of the British Empire, and of course, palace intrigue.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse