Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now New Album - Depeche Mode Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 December 2010
I only wish I had a copy of this book a few years back when I was involved in Business Management Consultancy. I visited in the region 700 organisations across a wide cross section of business types, and I can say hand on heart, I would have supplied a copy of "Setting up and Managing your own Coffee Bar" as a leaving present to the majority of these business's. The business principles of this book, explained in such a user friendly fashion, by two guys who have worked at the sharp end is (as far as I am concerned) brilliant. Passion, Product, People, Marketing, Systems and Money can be applied to all types of business, without going over the top in the books praise, I honestly think they should have it available in all British Schools, use it as a business learning tool to set up their own "School Coffee Shops" (obviously not a thing you would like to happen), they could take the Coffee part out, it would assist in teaching pupils the real world, rather than the ideal world.

If you are thinking of setting up your own Coffee Bar, then not to buy this book would be a commercial mistake. It has certainly taken the wool from my eyes and made me think long and hard if I am cut out for the the "Coffee Shop Business". I am not on commission from the authors or have any connection with them in any shape, way or form.The Coffee Boys' Step-by-step Guide to Setting Up and Managing Your Own Coffee Bar: How to Open a Coffee Bar That Actually Lasts and Makes Money (Coffee Boys Step By Step Guide)
33 Comments| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2010
After toying with the idea of opening a coffee bar for a while i did some research on the internet and came across the coffee boys website and this book.

After reading this book I have come to realise how much goes into not just opening a coffee bar but all the planning that needs to go into it even before you start,the finance side, planning how your coffee bar will operate and look, the coffee itself, what food to serve and when, advertising and things i hadn't even considered. It makes you see everything in a new light when you next go for a coffee.

It opens your eyes to the reality that opening up a coffee bar on a whim because you've always fancied it without any real idea is madness, you'll end up with little or no profit and be a slave to your business.

If you still want to open a coffee bar READ THIS BOOK AND MAKE IT YOUR BIBLE!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2015
This book may have once been useful, but it is full of links and references insisting that the reader needs to consult various free resources provided by the authors at 'freecoffeeboys.com' - this domain is no longer used and redirects to something completely different from the authors consulting business. All of the vital resources that the book strongly insists the reader consult are unavailable.

The book is also full of typographical errors and needs proofreading.

This is a shame as it's really a good book overall full of useful advice - it just needs to be updated and corrected.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2014
This is a book well worth reading if you want to set up your own coffee bar and want tips on how to approach the business so that it can be profitable for you. The authors no doubt have a lot of experience and knowledge in their industry, and draw on various incidents and stories in their own and their clients' experiences to make their point and give examples.

They give well reasoned advice about a lot of elements of this business and have a clear view of what things should be focused on to ensure success. I really liked the advice about location (doesn't have to be central) and employees. Their marketing advice is great but not very specific. There is also reference to their website to get further information and guidance.

However, I think the book is misleading about being a step-by-step guide. There are plenty of things that are not covered and when I finished reading it, I thought... Okay, where do I start? They don't cover what kind of things to negotiation or think about when securing or fitting out a premises. There is no mention on finance options, let alone if you have poor credit or no history in catering/hospitality. There could have been more advice about the different types of equipment needed and what could be bought new or second hand. There could have been more advice about the implications of hiring staff (sick pay, maternity etc) Business planning was not talked about in any depth, and I felt there could have been more advice about getting a good quality coffee machine. In the list of suppliers it would have been nice for them to recommend places to get commercial equipment instead of farmers that provide green coffee, especially when there is no advice or recommendations about roasting coffee in the book.

A lot of information was glossed over and I think this is because they want you to go to their website. incidentally the website didn't seem up-to-date but is offering a course where you can learn more from them under the same headings talked about in the book. I don't begrudge them of this - they do have a lot of experience and information that is clearly useful and they should make money from their knowledge, but I do think it is the type of book aimed at those that already have the basic knowledge and want to improve their profit, regardless of who the writers think its aimed at. It is definitely not a step by step guide.

There are other books that go into much more detail about coffee and others that do cover the basics and practicality of setting up a coffee bar; this book is a necessary element that covers things required to make money, so in your little library of books to help you get off the ground, I think this book is a good one, but not the only one.
11 Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2010
I've just finished reading this book. I've worked in the food industry for nearly 20 years and I can say with confidence this is an essential read to anyone that has a food service business or looking to set up one.
It's about coffee shops, but there's loads of useful stuff in there about food catering and how to make it work better.
Practical, readable and funny - a refreshing change from all the other poorer versions of 'business help' books.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2017
I would recommend this for anyone looking to start up their own business which has a product being sold to the general public. The principals which they introduce could be used in many fields. If it is the coffee business you are looking to get into then put everything else on hold until you have read this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
If you're setting up a new coffee shop or similar business like I was 6 months ago then this is an absolute must read (and absorb) if you're serious about making it a success.

The tone is great - and it's actually a page turner - not perhaps what you'd expect from the genre!!

Our business is now open, every day something new crops up to learn from, and this book is a perfect reference to keep you moving in the direction you set out to follow when you started your business.

Above all don't dilute your goal - use this book to re-galvanise your plan - even at what will inevitably be one of the busiest times of your life. Enjoy!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2012
Isn't it a little suspect that mostly everyone who has given this glowing reviews (and that's everyone that's reviewed the book) has only ever reviewed books written the same authors or this book alone??? As if maybe the Coffee Boys know how to manipulate the peer review process to their advantage??

Fair play, I bet it's generated a bucket load of sales and that's why you listen to these guys, but you're approaching ficticious cult status.
22 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2016
This is the best book you will read when it comes to opening up and running a coffee shop. Full of fantastic advice that are really helpful. I did order over 10 books when starting up, and the books by " The Coffee Boys" are definnetly the best. Would reccomend to anyone who think to start up a coffee shop or two :) You cant afford not to buy this one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
This is a great book for anyone looking to start any type of eatery or coffee shop- as many of the principles are the same.
The guys are great at exploring many of the pitfalls of a cafe- as I know too well myself.
I love the fact that the figures are so realistic- which will probably turn some people off the idea altogether. But better to be prepared than see the idea with rose tinted glasses.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)