Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 January 2017
I would recommend this for anyone looking to start up their own business which has a product being sold to the general public. The principals which they introduce could be used in many fields. If it is the coffee business you are looking to get into then put everything else on hold until you have read this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2014
This is a book well worth reading if you want to set up your own coffee bar and want tips on how to approach the business so that it can be profitable for you. The authors no doubt have a lot of experience and knowledge in their industry, and draw on various incidents and stories in their own and their clients' experiences to make their point and give examples.

They give well reasoned advice about a lot of elements of this business and have a clear view of what things should be focused on to ensure success. I really liked the advice about location (doesn't have to be central) and employees. Their marketing advice is great but not very specific. There is also reference to their website to get further information and guidance.

However, I think the book is misleading about being a step-by-step guide. There are plenty of things that are not covered and when I finished reading it, I thought... Okay, where do I start? They don't cover what kind of things to negotiation or think about when securing or fitting out a premises. There is no mention on finance options, let alone if you have poor credit or no history in catering/hospitality. There could have been more advice about the different types of equipment needed and what could be bought new or second hand. There could have been more advice about the implications of hiring staff (sick pay, maternity etc) Business planning was not talked about in any depth, and I felt there could have been more advice about getting a good quality coffee machine. In the list of suppliers it would have been nice for them to recommend places to get commercial equipment instead of farmers that provide green coffee, especially when there is no advice or recommendations about roasting coffee in the book.

A lot of information was glossed over and I think this is because they want you to go to their website. incidentally the website didn't seem up-to-date but is offering a course where you can learn more from them under the same headings talked about in the book. I don't begrudge them of this - they do have a lot of experience and information that is clearly useful and they should make money from their knowledge, but I do think it is the type of book aimed at those that already have the basic knowledge and want to improve their profit, regardless of who the writers think its aimed at. It is definitely not a step by step guide.

There are other books that go into much more detail about coffee and others that do cover the basics and practicality of setting up a coffee bar; this book is a necessary element that covers things required to make money, so in your little library of books to help you get off the ground, I think this book is a good one, but not the only one.
11 Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
It's written in a way which is accessible to everyone, whether you come from a business background or not. The points are very clearly made and easy to understand and make sense of. As a young woman planning to start my first business I found this book a great place to start! It has opened my eyes to some of the realities I will face and reminded me of others I'd perhaps left out of my planning. A definite must read for anyone thinking about starting a business in this industry
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2010
John and Hugh have put so much effort into this book. It is the bible for running your Coffee bar and business. It is so well written and and is by far the best book on the market. This book is a fantastic follow on from the "Wake up and Smell the Profit". You must buy these books and listen to and follow the great advice. And it comes with 2 hours of video from the internet. Where else do you get so much help and inspiration for so little cost.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2015
I highly recommend this book if you are thinking about starting up a cafe or coffe shop. It's written by people who have done it themselves and they share very good basic information about what you need to think about and do.

You get good quality information, down to earth examples and suggestions on what to do. They are very good to point out that running a successful cafe is not just about making nice coffee!
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2010
I read this book after having read their other book "Wake up and smell the profit" which might be considered the "wrong" way round, as we are just thinking of starting our own coffee shop.

It doesn't matter which way round you read them, just make sure you read them BOTH.

This book is written in such a way that you can really relate to the authors and their own trials and tribulations.
They have enormous experience and you feel confident when reading this book that the advice they give is true and gained from their own personal adventures.
I particularly like the section at the start that will make you question yourself, as to whether or not this business is actually for you.

A chance to get out, before its too late if you like!

I highly recommend this book, for anyone starting out and would imagine it be very useful for anyone who is already up and running.

There is lots of advice out there, but you feel that the coffee boys advice come from the heart. You feel that they actually want you to succeed and they are not just doing this to make a quick buck.

Buy this if you want to succeed with your coffee shop.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
This is a great book for anyone looking to start any type of eatery or coffee shop- as many of the principles are the same.
The guys are great at exploring many of the pitfalls of a cafe- as I know too well myself.
I love the fact that the figures are so realistic- which will probably turn some people off the idea altogether. But better to be prepared than see the idea with rose tinted glasses.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2013
They don't tell you what kind of fridge you'll need nor what the colour of your walls should be but really what's the attitude and work methods you'll need to have to make your business efficient and profitable.
I'd highly recommend to buy it with the one from Jill Sutherland cause that one is about the fridges you'll need and what coffee machine brand is best...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2016
This is the best book you will read when it comes to opening up and running a coffee shop. Full of fantastic advice that are really helpful. I did order over 10 books when starting up, and the books by " The Coffee Boys" are definnetly the best. Would reccomend to anyone who think to start up a coffee shop or two :) You cant afford not to buy this one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2012
I have previously read the Coffee Boys Wake up and Smell the Profit and was pleased to see this 'how to' guide appear. It provides lots of food for thought and has made me think in a more focussed way about some of the things that I wanted to do. It is easy to read and 'the great formula' is easy to digest and makes sense.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)