Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 June 2009
If you've never made a short film before and haven't a clue how to start then beware that this book does not offer a practical, step-by-step guide to getting your film made. It's a useful resource for short-filmakers that have already made at least one film or at least know the basics, which this book skips over.

For example, the book provides a sample press-kit for if ever you put your film into a festival, but it doesn't give you more basic essentials such a call sheet or a production schedule which you will need to get your film made.

On the plus side, this books is still a fascinating read for anyone interested in film-making and I couldn't put it down once I started. The sample scripts and interviews with film-makers were especially well-selected.

I would definitely recommend this book, but if you have never made a short film before then you may need to do some more research on top of what this book gives you.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2008
This guide provided me with vital details for making my 2nd short film. Well laid out, easy to read, packed with great tips and useful information. This will be my first point of reference for all future projects.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2008
this is an invaluable introduction - not only to short films but the industry itself. it's brimming with excellent advice based on the author's own experiences; and boasts a refreshing economy of style which always makes it interesting. i wish it was available when i was at film school.
22 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2008
i can't believe my luck, stumbling across this title. it really is "the only guide you will ever need" lots of titles claim this, few deliver. an A to Z of every important, unknown, or plain overlooked piece of info you will need to get your film on the screen.should be in every film school or film studies class
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2008
Every film, short or feature, begins with the screenplay. In Making Short Films, the writer has managed to condense all the screenwriting 'secrets' and mysticism into a powerful, straightforward guide to telling stories through film. Having started at the beginning, the book takes you step by step through the arts of directing, producing, editing and screening shorts at festivals and on the net. There are useful chapters on casting, locations, careers in film and I particularly enjoyed the History of Short Films, which puts the genre in context as it takes you on a journey from The Lumiere Brothers to YouTube. For new filmmakers, this is an essential guide. For tutors, you really won't need any other course work. Rarely does a book come along that can really change lives. Thurlow's Making Short Films is just such a book.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2010
As other reviewers have mentioned, this book is a wonderful resource but it might not be quite what one would imagine from the title. What is meant by "the complete guide from script to screen", is that the book systematically moves through all the stages of a production (from the initial idea and story/script development, through pre-production, crewing, casting, the shoot, editing, marketing, sales pitches, and getting the work seen). Thurlow does not iterate through every conceivable contingency, nor does he offer a manual for making films, but what he does do is put forward for consideration all of the vital elements of the production cycle, and discusses the necessity for each in terms of the historical reasons for that element existing, and the practical means of achieving them in today's industry.

The book to a certain degree appears to imagine that the reader will be a film-maker of some basic experience, and tends to assume a budget of some sort will be involved. It is not aimed at the absolute novice nor at "guerilla film-makers". However to say that neither of those groups will find it useful would simply be untrue; it is replete with useful tips, considerations, and ideas, and points to extra resources such as organisations dedicated to assisting the emergence of new cinema.

In short this book is both fascinating and useful. It is well worth it for the price, and you are unlikely to regret paying for it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2008
"Making short films" is clear, liveley and to the point. The author's own short films show that he knows the difference between a cut and a cut-away and he sets out the film-maker's craft vividly. The illustrations and presentation are excellent. A must for film-students and there's meat to chew on even for those who already know the business but want to keep up.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2011
The author has an encyclopaedic knowledge of cinema and considerable expertise in the business of movie shorts. I loved the first half of this book. It's informative, inspiring and interesting. And the author has even read Houellebecq, so he must be a great guy! But his choice of that awful Greta May short story made me question all I read up to that point. It struck me as the worst of Mills and Boon. I then watched it on YouTube and while it was better than the short story, and seemed to carry greater meaning, it was not the masterpiece I had expected from this expert author. A quick look at the BBC's filmmaking website will reveal some word class shorts. The comedy category is littered with wonderful shorts. Hilarious, innovative and very funny. Hopefully the author will have some of his work on there before long! JP :)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
Great Books, I have been six months at my TV/FILM/MEDIA/PHOTOGRAPHY Course now and I love it. I am in the middle of shooting my first short film. I don't like Editing so far, but with this book and my own PC at home, I am starting to get the hang of it. Great Books. I have bought my first movie camera, and starting to get to know it. This book helps, I like it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2013
This book is quite nice, but if you dont have a 5 - 20k budget for your next film and looking for advice then dont bother buying this.

its overwhelming, long, tedious and a bit boring.

If your some student with a camera looking to make a film then this book wont help
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse