Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 15 October 2014
Book is very interesting and came with many interesting little cards etc. Great gift for Christmas and would recommend to any trekkie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 February 2013
One of the best things I've ever bought. Complete coverage of 40 years that Star Trek has been around. Excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 October 2011
This book is an absolute dream for any Trekkie, or Trek fan, or indeed anyone interested in popular culture. Covering the entire Star Trek canon from the original series, which first aired in 1966, to the last of the Next Generation movies, and published to coincide with the second of J J Abrams' brilliant new Star Trek films, which is released next year, this terrific collection of photos, memorabilia and articles is something to treasure. I am a huge Trek and Star Wars fan, but Trek came first, of course, and will always be my first love. My only real beef with this book is that the first image you see on opening it is of Spock and not of Jim Kirk - I remember reading the very first collection of Star Trek short stories a year or so before the series began, in which James Blish, the author, instructed readers to watch out for science officer Spock, who, he said, would come to dominate the TV series. Yes, he did, but there was only ever Kirk for me - William Shatner is a brilliant actor, and encapsulated the essence of Star Trek in my opinion.
A strong team, of course, but Kirk was always the lead, the leader, the captain. This is covered off perfectly in Tipton's essays, and the collection of photographs is second to none, acting as a reminder of what turned out to be the greatest Science Fiction franchise in the world. The pull-outs and memorabilia are all stunning, from the brilliant reproduction colouring book to the blueprints for weaponry and hardware. What a magnificent volume - a fitting reminder that Star Trek is still boldly going forty-five years on from the original series' debut, and with a third new series movie promised, it shows no signs of diminishing in popularity. Spectacular, brilliant, the perfect Christmas gift, and indeed, the perfect gift at any time of the year!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 November 2011
I was a bit disappointed with this book. Considering their is over 40 years worth of Star Trek lore consisting of five hit TV series, eleven movies and a animated show the book just grazes everything. The Star Trek Vault could have been huge and packed full of rich content. If your a major fan then I guess you will part with your hard earned cash anyway. But overall their is nothing new or amazingly exciting about it. I'd give it 3 stars simply because I'm a Trekkie.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 October 2011
Highly regarded comics/pop culture/TREK fan comic writer Scott Tipton goes back to the future to bring us his unique look at forty five years of STAR TREK history with the very enjoyable new book STAR TREK VAULT, published by AURUM PRESS, which embarks on its writing mission of important celebration, passion and imagination about the show he's loved since childhood, in all its diversity and infinite combination, lovingly crafted around a stylish visual compendium of rarities and collectibles that would make any STAR TREK fan put down their phasers and tricorders and snap it up with fervor.

From the super soaraway sixties to the somber seventies, then into the extravagant eighties and then the more restrained nineties and noughties, STAR TREK has endured, and for the most part successfully adapted with the times and the changing attitudes of audiences. The STAR TREK VAULT takes us on a streamlined journey of adventures and imagination-our very own Memory Alpha- through the entire history of the series: its creation, its acclaimed and landmark storytelling, remarkable and iconic screen chemistry characters and ensemble casts over the years, its notable ups and downs in behind the scenes production, and its revolutionary moments brought to life on television, then through to the film series (the most recent TREK movie from J.J. Abrams, however, doesn't get included: itself a new era/cannon for TREK beyond what has boldly gone before) and then back to television. Also, most importantly, as this is a Vault product, there's a symbiotic treasure trove of lovely rare memorabilia, images and reproductions, on display, including iron-on T-shirt transfers, theatrical posters, storyboards, a blueprint of Captain Picard's command chair, and 1960's trading cards.

Its a lovely 45th anniversary celebration statement, and a fitting tribute to all things TREK- a lively final cherry on the birthday cake that will surely be a much desired Christmas present for Trekkers everywhere during the Holiday Season.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 23 November 2013
This collector's item is written and collated by the very talented Scott Tipton, who knows a thing or two about Doctor Who and Star Trek. The book, which is oversize and with very good quality thick paper (for keeping purposes) offers a really good overview of Star Trek from its beginnings in 1966, through the original series, the animated series, the original series films, Next Generation, Next Generation films, Deep Space nine, Voyager and Enterprise - from 1966 to 2005.

Each of the aspects of Star Trek are shown in full colour glory - photos, promotional stills, keepsake memorabilia and interesting information on each of the Star Trek features. It's amazing how much you remember when you see again these older photos and read of the characters and their stories in the Star Trek universe. Absolutely great stuff; a trip down memory lane, a book which any Star Trek fan would keep forever and treasure, and all written by someone who obviously cares very deeply for Star Trek, its memories and its fans.
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 October 2011
This vault is an ideal overview of the history of Star trek - the Television shows, animation, movies and beyond. beyond you say? yes well this vault also encompasses a plethora of the marketing and advertising tools used to spread the word of Star trek out there in the world.
The written text gets right to the "Bones" sorry about the pun)of each franchise instalment and their varying successes. Completists will want to add this to their collections. Hard core fans looking for new information may feel a bit let down as they are being told what they probably already know. But it's still a great companion piece and is even an ideal gift to encourage a newbie!
Oh yes and a dozen or so pull-out collectable!
3 Stars for the fanbase, 4 for those new to Star trek!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 January 2012
Amazing book. bought it for a christmas present for an avid star trek fan and he loves the book. is done to an excellent standard!! would highly recommend it :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 July 2013
I own the Star Wars Vault ,which is a classy book which oozes quality from every page.
I also own the Marvel Vault and its own way that too is a fantastic piece of work.
Then I bought this and wondered how they managed to put together such a poor effort ,particularly as the previous books were so good.
I just don' t know where o begin with this one - number of pages in low, not enough quality memorabilia enclosed, no real information in the book. I could go on but I won't.
Fortunately I paid only £6.99 for this from another merchant but was so disappointed, don't know how I would feel paying £28.99.
Was going to get the Terminator and Dr Who Vaults but will hold off now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 October 2011
I bought this book believing that it would be as good as the wonderful star wars vault.It is not by any stretch of the imagination.For starters its quiet thin by comparison and an insult to star trek fans in that nothing seems new.It doesn't go into any real detail and ignores completely the 2009 movie.A far more worthly purchase is Star Trek 365 which sadly is far superior to this shameless cash in.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)