Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 June 2011
The book is informative but far from exhaustive. The Shepperton-Waterloo line is not included for instance. The drawings are just padding. Colour photos of the actual towns and villages would help to visualise what is only briefly described. The book is more efficient than collating research online and is a quite reasonable reference book but should be cheaper or provide more comprehensive information.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2009
We're moving out of central London - looking for the village life and lifestyle.
Having now fully read/reviewed the book I'll be selling it on. On that basis I'd have happily paid for internet access to such information instead - maybe that is a way forward for such authors to capitalise on all their research and hard work.
All in all its been useful, it helped us pick our new home location and now it's down to house hunting!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2010
This book is great in principle but it is not as comprehensive as I would have expected.

Sure, its descripion boasts that it covers over 1200 towns - and it does - but it is limited by towns that are served by trains into Liverpool St, Paddington, Euston and Victoria. Stations such as London Bridge, Cannot Street and Blackfriars are forgotten and four out of five of the areas that we are considering moving to - all recognised as being great commuter towns and villages (in Kent) don't even get a mention.

Great idea but let down by incomplete execution.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
We really found this book extremely helpful and in fact it formed the guide map of our weekend activities for the best part of a year when we were trying to escape London with our children before they had reached school age. We found the village of Weston through a combination of this book and a good map but this book must have saved us hours and hours of research time.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2012
A useful book - packed with information. Would have been helpful to include the times of the first and last trains of the day.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2009
Bought this guide for my son, who works in London and at present lives in rented accommodation in Clapham, so have only really glanced at it, but it seemed to contain a lot of useful, completely up to date information about where to live outside London and how much of the day your journey into and out of the city will consume. Would recommend it for anyone comtemplating buying, whilst still working in town.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2016
useful even if old
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2016
Very helpful book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2015
For people needing inspiration this is a fantastic start. It leaves out many places but then again I'm not sure a book could cover everywhere. For those looking to find out more about different areas we have a great free resource of our website lifeafterlondon. This book is a great start but there is more research to be done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
A bit out of date now.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)