Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
27
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
17
4 star
10
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 September 2007
I never expected a book related to football to be so amusing, but "This is the one" really is. It's not just entertaining but intensely informative, with the engaging additional fact that it written from the football journalist's point of view, which I found fascinating. Daniel Taylor certainly knows his stuff, but so much more importantly than that, he knows how to deliver it to his readers. By the end of the book I almost felt as if I knew Sir Alex Ferguson, moreover, although Daniel Taylor does not shirk from describing him "warts and all", his portrayal of the man shows a genuine affection for him which inspires affection in the reader too.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2007
A great insight into how Ferguson operates his regime of alternating fear and fun.Daniel Taylor provides a unique dairy with Sir Alex at Manchester United press conferences; a world completely new to an ordinary punter like me who simply helps to fund the Maseratis of the star players. A good read at a good price from Amazon.
A book which you can pick up at spare moments, enjoy, have a belly laugh and return to later in the day.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2010
This book is not about Ferguson's life, or even his time at Manchester United. The book covers two seasons - 2005-06 and 2006-07 - at Old Trafford. The book is in a diary format, and is basically about Ferguson's reaction to significant games and events. So don't expect too much on tactics, goalscorers etc. The events in games are secondary to Ferguson's reactions.

As it states in the book's title it is "uncut" and the language is raw. If you don't like swearing, and in particular the "f" word, then beware.

The book is about Ferguson's personality, and also gives a small insight into the world of football journalism, and the difficulty of trying to work with Ferguson. This is especially the case when something or somebody irks Fergie.

It is an enjoyable read and occasionally funny. The book is funny because of Ferguson's antics, stories of his actions, and the author's one-liners.

There's something in it for both Ferguson's admirers and detractors. I found it an enjoyable book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2008
A thoroughly enjoyable and engrossing account of one of football's great managers and enigmas. This is a fascinating insight in to the fall and rise of United over a period of transitional decline that eventually saw them usurp the billions of Roman Abramovich's Chelsea to be crowned English champions for the 16th time.
The book is laden with some hilarious anecdotes while Taylor's portrait of the tyrant he had to deal with on a weekly basis remains impartially respectable, with no grudges held. Written with fanzine panache, it is not just the essential Ferguson book, but one of the great football books of modern times.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
One of many books on SAF. Whilst coverage of his team & achievements has been covered in many other books, this gave an insight to his press dealings. I think we were all aware of brittle relationships from such as his refusal to speak to the BBC for so long. The stories in this book range from some gems that are quite funny to where he is simply childish & disrespectful. As manager of MUFC, he has clearly been high profile & in demand for so long. At times it must have been really taxing. Where SAF let's himself down is this element where he totally is dismissive of the press & treats them with contempt if they dare criticise. It is very noticeable how reporters often held back for fear of being banned. I guess such actions only added to the intrigue of the story. What is certain, is that perhaps Mourinho apart, there is unlikely to be anyone of his ilk for the next few seasons, so he will be missed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2013
Fantastic read...very funny and a great insight into Fergie and the press.

Read the book in less than a week (which is great for me) as I couldn't put it down, and it focuses on two very different seasons. Looking back, to the 2005 season, you forget how much pressure Fergie was under, from the press and even some of the fans at times, so it was great to look back and read about what happened next.

The books is a record of most of Fergie's press conferences, and I didn't realise how fun and unexpected they were!

By far one of most enjoyable MUFC books i've read, going to look into other books by the author now!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2013
I have always enjoyed Daniel Taylor's articles in the Guardian and he usually knows what's what when it comes to the goings on behind the scenes at Old Trafford. The seasons covered in question were very interesting to cover given the transition between great sides (said with hindsight) when many fans and ABUs alike thought United, and Ferguson were losing it. When things are going good, bad or indifferent, Ferguson usually keeps the reality to himself, so this book really gives you the insight necessary to understand what was really going on behind the scenes. The Keane and Van Nistelrooy insights are some of the most valuable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2013
I don't always agree with Taylor's opinion in the Guardian and find him quick to jump to conclusions and onto bandwagons. However, I am still enthralled with this book, 4 years after first reading it. It's a fascinating, warts and all, portrayal of the great man. Taylor is man enough to lay bare Fergie's faults (of which there are undoubtedly many) but it's heartening to see that after all the frustration and fear Ferguson evokes in Taylor and the mass media in general, this journalist cannot hide his admiration and affection for the man. A well-written insight into two momentous years at Utd - you'll see the best and worst of Fergie come through here. In addition to the Fergie focus, there are plenty of great side stories that most Utd fans won't know about, like the time masked, baseball bat wielding men turned up at Rio Ferdinand's house in the middle of the night, after he'd been pictured out for dinner in London with Peter Kenyon. I've read this book about four times - do yourself a favor and read it too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
After hearing many good things about this book I finally bought it and read it in a few hours. It is brilliant. Covers two of United's most eventful seasons of the modern era and is written with humour and affection for one of football's greats. Even if you are not a United fan I would definitely recommend This Is The One.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2013
I found this book hilarious at times with some really interesting insights to incidents that we ,as fans, never get to hear about. I know this is from a few years ago but you will remember the things the author brings up. It shows the other side of journalists that,let's be honest, we do consider them to be sometimes as bad as solicitors and estate agents, that are equally in awe of Sir Alex. True fans will reluctanty recognise that although we loved him as the best and most successful manager of our Club, he could be a bully and use his power to intimidate people. Equally his generosity is highlighted in this book which shows the man is a true Gent!
I would definitely recommend this as a good read which doesn't last long enough because you find it hard to put down!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)