Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
22
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 April 2014
It's simply written yet the ideas are equally as challenging, but your never left on your own, the explanations are beautiful.. it's gripping and has really changed my opinion about some texts. Extremely positive and enlightening view of the Kuran. I know how to read Arabic, yet do not understand, this has given me a lovely intro to the complicated suras
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2010
Never getting enough time to contemplate on the meaning of the Holy Book, the Quran? Then this book takes you through its themes that are immediately relevant to you. What I liked most about this book is that it presents its discussion and arguments in a no nonsense manner. I particularly liked the discussions about how different translators have understood the meaning of the Quran. I didn't appreciate the difficulty in translating the Quran till I read this book and it's helped. I hope this review is useful to you.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
I am not a Muslim, but I have always been interested in and fascinated by Islam.
This book offers a fantastic introduction to the Holy Book, dispelling false myths and incorrect past interpretations. I find this element especially important given the current political issues - this makes it an important book for everybody.
I also appreciated the many parallels between Christian and Quranic scriptures when it comes to events/people registered in both- it was actually quite moving to see who many things there are in common, despite the different religious outlook.
A fantastic experience.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2014
I bought this book because it was written by the translator of the Qur'an( One of the best renderings in modern English.)
I want to learn what the author of this book has to teach
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2017
Absolutely brilliant! Amazing work which will allow both Muslims and non Muslims to understand the main themes and styles of the Quran!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2013
M.A Haleem is a great scholar and unbiased theologian who opens the world of Islam to everyone. Particularly those who have had a negative experience through the media's global representation of Islam over the past 20 odd years...This should be read by anyone even remotely inquisitive in Islam (including other scholars and imams at mosques) as it deals with the most controversial themes that the popular media and heretics, within Islam and who claim knowledge of Islam, seem to wrongly have consensus on through out the world.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2012
This is a thoughtful and well written reflection on parts of the Qur'an with the author clearly a "man of the faith". The book is accessible to non-muslims as time is taken to explain concepts and indeed aspects of the Qur'an and the faith. The first chapter provides an overview of the text and its place in muslim life. There then follows a series of analyses of certain passages or themes: "Al-fatiha" with an interesting comparison with the Christian "Lord's prayer", then a review of how water features and so on.

Worth reading and I suspect (re-reading) for anyone who wishes to understand more about the holy book for those of the muslim faith.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2011
I bought this book alongside the author's translation of the Quran and it has been very helpful to gain a better understanding of the major themes in the Quran. The book highlights key themes in the Quran and explains their relevance. There is a lot of focus on the language styles used in the Quran which can be a bit hard to follow but don't let that put you off, particularly if you have no prior knowledge of Arabic, because this is an important feature of the Quran. Common translation or interpretation errors that have occurred in the past are explained and the author gives examples of these too. I found the book very interesting and would highly recommend it for those who wish to understand the Quran better.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2013
This book is well presented, with the text both in Arabic and English. It is easy to read and a good choice for anyone who cannot read Arabic alone. I find it very useful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
I didn't have the chance or time to go through thoroughly, But it seemed really well written at the first glance.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)