Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 May 2017
While I loved reading the first book, I did not really take to this one.

It could have been due to the overuse of exclamation marks but also the fact that I was missing the touching and very personal account of "A Friend like Henry".

The facts about the struggles people with ASD have to face with bureaucracy and the "system" in general were interesting but sadly something was missing to make this book as captivating as its predecessor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2014
This is a follow up and I am getting reluctant to lay it down. A really
helpful account of the difficulties faced by this family.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2014
A real in site to the autistic world and what I still have to come it has helped me understand my son's autism so much more good luck to the whole family in the future
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
A book for families with autistic members that will encourage them to seek early diagnosis and therefore specialist and child specific help. The enthusiasm was admirable and exhausting and the level of commitment too? Another book on effects on relationships in the family and support for them and non autistic siblings and grandparents would be a good partner book along with a text book on 'preparing' for a dog for the autistic kid. The content and capacity are remarkable but it is a roller coaster of a book? A must read though!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2015
self indulgant
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
The conversational style of this book may not appeal to everyone but do read on because

it highlights the challenges faced by young people with autism conditions and their

families, in a no-holds-barred way. What seemed like a dream future for Dale, following

his success at a mainstream secondary school, soon turned into a nightmare as he and his

parents tried to navigate and fight against the bureaucracy of Dale's college.

The book also describes the supports that Dale and his parents put in place to enable

him to succeed at college and this is important information for parents and carers of

other young people on the spectrum who are embarking on college courses or into

employment. However, in spite of Dale's, his parents' and support workers' heroic efforts,

Dale was still let down by a system that promised to support him but failed to deliver.

Running parallel to Dale's story are two other amazing journeys: his sister Amy's

transition from primary to secondary education and his mother Nuala's growth as an

author and as a specialist training dogs to promote autistic children's communication and

build their confidence and self-esteem. Sadly, the journey ended for Nuala and Jamie as a

couple when their marriage broke up.

At times I felt uncomfortable reading the very personal details in the book and wondered

what Amy and Dale will think in future years about their stories being told in such a

public way. Having said this, this is an important book in that it gives us privileged

access to a very raw, harrowing and often humorous picture of this family's life on the

spectrum.

Autism specialist teacher
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2017
The most annoying book ever. I just wanted the story, in sequence. The facts. It would probably have helped if she'd just written it herself. This was so all over the place, time-wise, that I nearly gave up. Yes, I think it is a little self-indulgent to weave all over the place like this. Flashback is all very well, sometimes, but not like this. I wish I had been there all those years and then had written it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2013
Loved this book,having read a friend like Henry,could not wait to find put what was happening with Dale.Could not believe how he went from one interview to another with not a single employer taking him on,he has done more than a lot of others who Don,t have autism.would not hesitate in telling others about this and the first book.well done,nuala,u did your family proud.!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2014
I found this book initially due to my love of dogs and the wonders they can do for all types of people. In addition having recently had the bombshell dropped on my that my son has 'Global Development Delay', I found this book more than fitting.
The book captures you in the struggle and challenges Nuala & Dale faced just to achieve what may be considered the norm by many, especially Dale's piers.
The love, encouragement and devotion offered by Nuala to Dale & Amy is often felt throughout the book, it truely is a rollercoaster of events to which I couldn't beleive happened even in todays society.
Anyone who loves dog, or has a friend or family member on the ASD will love this book, even if you don't it's a great read bringing much needed exposure to this invisable disability.
I truely look up to Nuala for the perserverance and determination a mother will endure for her child.
A must read. Well done Nuala.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2014
A families battle with autism and the authorities, with a greatly improved outlook for the two young people involved. I found this book both touching and inspiring.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)