Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
61
4.8 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 May 2017
Superbly written and brings back great memories of what a fantastic achievement winning the cup was for Aberdeen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2017
Rather enjoyed reading this. Not an Aberdeen fan, but having grown up in the Scottish Highlands at a time when there were no pro teams in the area, a lot of kids slightly older than me followed the Dons and idolised the team that lifted the Cup Winners' Cup, so the story was one that I was very familiar with.

It was very interesting for me to read about some of the players that played in the Highland League in their later years as I'd often seen them play against my local side, and there were also one or two big names that had retired or faded away before I was able to catch the football bug myself.

However, I felt this book really suffered as a result of not having an interview with Sir Alex Ferguson given that he more than any other man is the person that you would associate with this great triumph. It felt rather like sitting down to a great meal only to realise that you have left out a key ingredient. Several of the players use their interviews with the author to criticise Ferguson, so it would have been nice to also have heard his side of the story and also why certain relationships went wrong in the years that followed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2013
I'm a Celtic fan and I loved this book.
Maybe missing a chapter on the fan`s experiences.

The quite incredible achievement of a great Scottish team is brought to live in a highly readable style by Richard Gordon.

Buy this book!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
You can scarcely believe it nowadays, but there was a time when Europe’s superpowers could be regularly overcome by a provincial team from a less fashionable league. Given the right circumstances, smaller sides could rise up and beat the behemoths of the game, clinching major European silverware as they did so.

One of the more stunning examples of such a tale was the 1982-83 Aberdeen side, led by a certain Alex Ferguson and featuring a host of famous names, many of whom were embarking on what would become illustrious careers. I can just about recall the images of a rain soaked John Hewitt celebrating his late headed winner which beat Real Madrid in the 1983 European Cup Winners’ Cup Final in a sodden Gothenburg. It didn’t seem such an astonishing shock to my youthful mind, but with the benefit of a little time and a little perspective it can’t be classed as anything other than a phenomenal achievement.

Just how did this happen? Now it would be beyond Aberdeen’s wildest dreams to merely compete domestically with the relative financial giants of Celtic, and Rangers once they climb their way back. In 1983, it was another matter altogether.

By using that most golden of seasons in Aberdeen’s history, Gordon traces the rise through chapters looking jointly at the progressing season and the key men involved in making history for the Dons. Working through the whole line up from that famous Final flourish in Gothenburg from Jim Leighton, Willie Miller and Alex McLeish at the back, to Gordon Strachan, Neale Cooper, Eric Black, John Hewitt and Mark McGhee further forward and all those in between, Gordon tells each players’ tale with the benefit of first hand interviews from each player.

The players’ own stories are told in mini-biographical form within each chapter, but of course focused on their time at Aberdeen and in that European run in particular. What strikes is that in almost every case, the memories are fresh and clear, barring the seemingly forgetful Gordon Strachan. For many, it was the pinnacle achievement of the playing career, and is looked on fondly by them all. Even for those who went on to achieve more elsewhere, or at least of a higher profile in later years, the pride of those astonishing years in Aberdeen are clear for all to see.

At the helm there was of course the dominating figure of Alex Ferguson; a relative whipper-snapper at the time. Given what he went on to achieve, it is fascinating to note the effect he had on the team he made his reputation at, with examples of his infamous temper (such as after Aberdeen’s 1983 Scottish Cup win) and also his softer sentimental side (allowing an injured player to warm up in front of the fans so they would sing his name). What is clear is that even for those he subsequently fell out with, the respect is absolute from those that made it at Aberdeen. His ruthlessness may mean that some of those who fell by the wayside feel differently, but that would be another story; this is all about those who succeeded beyond their wildest dreams.

Given this influence it is a shame that Ferguson is the one key protagonist who wasn’t interviewed for this book; the reasons are explained, but it’s a shame nonetheless. But there is so much revealing testimony from the players about Ferguson that it actually paints a detailed picture of the big man’s early managerial years. The lack of a Ferguson interview doesn’t impact overall on the impression of a thoroughly well researched book, mixed in with Gordon’s own personal recollections of that Aberdeen team and that night in Gothenburg.

For an Aberdeen fan, this book will bring the glorious memories flooding back, but for fans of other clubs it serves as a reminder that things weren’t always this way. There was a time when money wasn’t the be all and end all, and that given the right circumstances and the right people, others could rise to the top and achieve the impossible. Fascinating reading for football fans of all persuasions.

Review from my website thesportsbookreview
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2013
Not just for Dons fans, as a Rangers fan, it was a bloody good read. Great insight into a winning team, such a shame it was so long ago.........
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2013
I love the lines at the end about how the Gothenburg team should be celebrated. It is not about living in the past and hoping the glory days will return. It is highly unlikely they will. However, this is a great insight into the building of a team. A provincial club will never do this again as after winning the first league title most of the squad would be off elsewhere in these days. But the best bit, is finding out about the players after football. How times are different and these players could not retire to the good life at the end of their career. When ever I see Hewitts goal in Gothenburg I am immediately back in the living room in Woodburn Avenue as an 9-year old watching the match well past my bedtime. Pages of this book did the same thing as I remember matches it talked about such as the opening match of the season vs Dundee.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2012
Superb behind the scenes stories from that amazing night in Gothenburg, interwoven
with insightful and often funny stories by the players and staff who made history in 1983.

Well written by a die hard dons fan, broadcaster Richard Gordon.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
A well written account of an incredible time, by using an individual player and a particular match as a heading for each chapter, the significance of this period to Scottish football is subtly underlined.

It is also interesting to here about what happened to these players after their spell playing for AFC.

To put it simply, Aberdeen Football Club were the best team in Europe for a time and only through these face to face interviews do you realise why. It was the instilled attitude from one of the greatest managers of all time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2013
I'm only half way through, but so far it's a very good and interesting read about the road to Gothenburg.

Richard has nicely formatted each chapter with an interview of each of the players in the squad for each game on that great European Cup Winners winning run, whilst also reflecting on his own experiences as a Don's fan at the time. The players talk about their experiences and stories surrounding the games, how they broke into the Aberdeen team, and what they have done since.

A good read for every Dandy or football fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2013
I'm not an Aberdeen fan but watched this side regularly humble my team (Celtic) and every other team in Scotland during this particular season and a few others.

Richard Gordon has a genuine love of Aberdeen and these players, which comes across in the way he writes about this season & the seasons leading up to, & after, it.

A great read and highly recommended for anyone who is a fan of football - and this Aberdeen team had few equals.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)