Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 30 November 2009
Bruce Sandison is a wonderfully poetic writer on fishing and hillwalking but this book is packed with practical information on places to fish rather than enjoyable prose.

The book is very cleverly laid out and much more useful in my opinion than previous editions. There is an exhaustive index that will take you to details of the water you are looking for if you know its name. On the other hand if you are looking speculatively for somewhere to fish in a particular area, the book is divided into segments based on OS sheets. Such a wonderful idea this I think. There is a map at the front giving the names and the numbers of each OS sheet tallying with page numbers in the book, so you can quickly find the patch you are interested in and begin teasing out the prospects of every blue splodge or squiggle on the map.

Each water comes with details on location, access, where to get permission if its needed, what you are likely to catch, phone numbers and permit details.

The only area Sandison is sketchy on in my opinion is his advice on flies and tactics. He tends to favour old-fashioned wet fly patterns that many modern anglers may be less keen on, but its a minor point really.

This is a thoroughly comprehensive guide to the freshwater fishing of Scotland - over 5000 locations from the humblest lochan to the mightiest salmon beat. From put-and-take rainbow dubs to wild waters. Absolutley essential for anyone angling in Scotland. You can only marvel at the colossal amount of work that must have gone into putting all this together.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2012
I already had this book in an earlier edition at home. When it came to a kindle version I thought "what a good idea" a useful portable version. Except it isn't because you cannot reference individual pages. It really shouldn't be on Kindle. Anyone listening out there?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2010
Bought this because last year while staying in Kenmore, Scotland , I saw lots of rivers and Lochs that I did not have a clue if I could cast a Fly in. With this in the car this year it will be much easier.

Would recommend to anyone who fishes or plans to fish in Scotland.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2012
The most amazing and comprehensive collection of all the fishing in Scotland that is or might be available to the public and the privileged. Descriptions regarding indigenous and stocked fish, paperwork and permission, flies and baits allowed or recommended, access and danger warnings. Read about fishing you have done, would like to do or can only dream about. The author seems to have personally sampled most of it and where he has not his research seems meticulous. I can't comment on errors and some information will inevitably become out of date. Well worth buying
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2011
The first edition of this book,published in 1997 inspired me to spend several months over each of the next 10 years hiking and climbing over vast areas of the North and North-West Scotland with a backpack,a tent and a fishing rod.
I have nothing but admiration ( perhaps a little envy )for the man who put this book together as the scale of his undertaking is monumental.
Having put several chapters to practical use and fished several hundred of the lochs and lochans that Bruce Sandison describes I can recommend his descriptions as inspiring and directions as to finding the lochs as accurate.
This latest edition in paperback has been brought up to date and is light enough to fit into a backpack for campsite reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2012
Must have book for anyone wanting to fish in scotlands rivers and lochs! it really is execellent! must buy for any fisherman!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2013
Sandison has a habit of being very repetitive in the information he provides, while this is basically a guide to waters around Scotland it does become boring when he lists the same three flies over and over again, plenty details about the fishing though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2010
I own the first edition purchased in 2001 and used it constatly as we fished our way across Caithness and Sutherland exploring our own counties Loch by Loch.

In general it was a good guide although there were some errors. The new revised edition I expected great things but the same errors remain and through the passage of time contacts, details etc have changed but the information has not kept up.

Still useful for a first time reader with little or no local knowledge but as an update definitely a no-no.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2013
I have an older edition of this and I am glad I got this one. Up to date giving all the details you will need to fish in Scotland I rely on this when I go off on most of my trips. Thanks Bruce.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2012
Excellent book a mine of information that would be difficult or impossible to learn any other way. A must for Scottish fishing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse