Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now flip flip flip Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



VINE VOICEon 14 August 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I think this "Which guide" illustrates what a wonderful series they have going. I didn't realise that they had a Handbook on taxes so when I saw this, I wanted to pit it against the other guides I have read/reviewed from Which.

Firstly, this is better than many other "equivalent" guides out there, INCLUDING the one that comes with the written tax form. (I know that isn't very hard, for me it is the negative feeling that comes with filling out the darn tax form) But this guide is up to date with all the changes that the current government instituted at the start of their term including retirement ages. (Don't start me on Tory policies and I won't mention Brown's 1997 raid on pension pots)

This guide is also uber extensive: giving even coverage of vehicle excise duties, inheritance and even giving away a business. The scenarios are actually very helpful and applicable to the point where they are almost advice-like in the conclusion. They offer sources of help where needed.

Layout is professional and easy to digest. I think someone had a great brainwave to use calming blue. You can immediately find the section relevant to your query very easily. Again much more reassuring than the intimidating HMRC website. There is a lovely sense of these guys holding your hand, instead of going cap in hand for help. This is the best "Which guide" in this respect.

I think this is a useful guide to anyone of a working age. It is the nature of these guides that they can be outdated with any change in the tax framework. For this reviewer, I know I am going to swot up with this, then only fill in the return.
|0Comment|Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 August 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Tony Levene is a highly respected financial journalist of great experience, and his expertise is fully evident in this latest edition of the Tax Handbook 2012-13. The ten chapters identify the main areas for consideration and the final chapter is especially helpful in offering a step-by-step guide to a tax return, a calendar, useful addresses and advice on getting outside help on tax matters. There is a glossary of terms and a comprehensive index.

Over and above these worthwhile features are Tony Levene's use of crystal clear language to explain often very technical or complex tax matters, a wealth of useful tips and clarifications often set in boxes and other graphic devices which draw attention to matters of particular interest or importance.

The text is written in mercifully jargon-free English, and while I can imagine such a handbook being designed differently, I cannot imagine it being done better. Highly recommended.
One person found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 21 July 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Tax is a huge subject with lots of specialist areas, so for a book to cover all areas will always be a challenge. The Which? handbook spans all but the most niche areas of day-to-day tax, but in covering so many subjects it lacks depth in any. The information provided is on a level with the government website directgov, with the bonus of the Which? book being a far nicer layout and easier to look through.

The book is a very good place to gain a basic understanding of tax and tax terms, but if there's an element of tax you want to explore it's unlikely this book has the answers. If you want to give your daughter money as a wedding present this book tells you how to ensure it's tax free, but the sections on self employed taxation and self assessment barely cover the basics.

Very much a light, family based, basic guide to the concept of tax and when you might encounter it.
One person found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 30 July 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Tax Law in the UK is becoming increasingly complex and anything that can help those earners understand the problems facing them in completing their Tax Returns has to be checked out. Most honest folk, while they may complain about the amount they have to pay in taxes, appreciate why it is important that they do so. It is only fair, however, that they are made aware of situations in which they could be paying too much. The 'Which' organisation have produced this very comprehensive little book that offers great advice on a wide range of tax matters and problems that can arise. It is well researched, easy to follow and understand and includes a very helpful index. It is well worth investing in a copy as it could save you money!

The only people who will not be interested in this publication are those that actively 'evade' or 'avoid' paying their tax dues. In my opinion both 'avoidance' and 'evasion' are equally criminal and should be treated as such!
|11 Comment|Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 28 July 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Tax affects us all. It is soemthing many of us complain about all the time. yet we rarely make an effort to understand it. We live in a society (UK) that is probably one of the most heavily taxed aqnywhere. The tax laws are often complex and changes often. At times, so complicated that Revenue and Customs (under resourced) can often make mistakes that have a massive impact on the individual. This book is very readable. It is very informative. There are sections on PAYE (are such persons the only ones who pay all tax properl; with no escape.....?), working for yourself, savings & investments, renting and letting etc . It provides useful case studies. It provides practical advice. I have found it useful as an employee. My wife also for her buy to let. A good basic understandable guide to tax. Enough to give you a general understanding to deal with relatively straightforward tax issues. Recommended.
|0Comment|Report abuse
on 4 January 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is an easy-to-read guide to taxes; well written and structured. It is a useful starting point but may not be so helpful for those who already have a basic knowledge.

There is plenty of good advice and it does explain things in easy to understand terms. It covers a wide range of scenarios so is worth a read before seeking professional help.
3 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 September 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
No, don't expect to be moving to Monaco or Cayman after reading this book, you won't be an expert just yet. But that's not what this book is about. It is a handbook, and as such gives a relatively simple high level overview of the main taxes and the issues that arise.

It's not Tolleys, but it doesn't claim to be. A good starting point for those wanting to understand the system.
2 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on 29 December 2013
The book did not really serve the purpose very general high level review of tax jargons. If you want something to help you fill your tax return this book is not enough. The examples are also poorly explained. My feeling is I waisted my money. Saying this have not yet seen a useful tax book in the market.
|0Comment|Report abuse
on 20 September 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I bought a previous edition of this book a few years ago and like most which guides found it quite a useful guide which explains in simple terms about the UK tax system.
Although it covers a lot of ground, for more in depth tax queries you will need to consult a more in depth guide or an accountant I'd guess.
If you're trying to understand where you stand then this really does help. I'm pretty clueless when it comes to tax and I'm working through this, and hope to be all the more enlightened by the end. I will update this review once I'm done...
2 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here