Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
20
4.2 out of 5 stars


on 15 May 2017
Best and useful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 November 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
As a young lad I remember saving for a Sinclair Spectrum, which eventually arrived complete with programs on cassette tapes. Included in these was a spreadsheet and I remember wondering what possible use could there be for such a program! Years later and I'm sure few would argue that the current incarnation of Excel represents the almost perfect evolution for this type of software. Software that is used increasingly to define and measure doctors' performance, underspends, overspends and other delights I won't bore you with.

Sadly as software has become more complex, more powerful and more expensive, manuals have become scarce and though of course we can use online help and help files; in my view there is nothing better than relaxing with a paper manual and certainly nothing that can give you great insight and an overview, quickly about a programme's overall uses and capabilities. I am of the view this detached nature of the help files and online assistance has created a generation of users who simply content themselves with just a part of the overall functionality of some pretty impressive software - like this. This excellent book which is beautifully presented and illustrated seeks to reverse this and I believe it does so with aplomb. It gives and excellent overview of the main features and is backed up with clear screen shots so that one knows exactly where to find what one is looking for and what results will be achieved. In truth I would have liked more worked examples, but one could argue that all Microsoft software, these days, comes with hundreds of predefined templates and examples that one can modify once the basics have been learned.

In conclusion then, this excellent volume is pitched perfectly between clarity, ease of understanding and detail and describes the vast array of functions available to the person who has mastered its contents - such that few spreadsheet difficulties will elude you. One for the bedside table - many thanks.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 December 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a perfect starter book for those just beginning to use this ubiquitous application.
I have been using Excel for as long as there has been an Excel. Despite that I find that there are many areas that have remain undiscovered mysteries, hence my wanting a learners guide. All the basics are fully covered,as you'd expect, and it also makes good inroads into more complex formulae territory. Recommended as a clear and easy to understand refresher as well as a starter.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This book does little more than take you through the functions of Excel one by one, with noisy screen dumps as examples.

As an experienced computer this book terrifies me, so it must be even more intimidating for a novice or technophobe. I would advise Which to go back to school and learn about the art of presentation, because each page in this book is too loud.

I think it would also have been better to have stuck to just one example set of data rather than to have used many, for less confusion.

My advice would be to invest more money on a better quality text book, because Excel is worth learning to use properly.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 November 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I'm an intermediate Excel user and hoped to pick up some helpful tips for the upgrade to Office 2010. However I found the book was really aimed at the absolute Excel beginner. It does say Excel 2010 Made Easy and that's exactly what it does. For a bit more advanced techniques you need something like Microsoft Excel Made Easy; Hot Tips for Beginners, Intermediate & Advanced.

The pages are laid out well, the diagrams are clear and colourful too. There are lots of diagrams and screen-grabs, so more a show, than a tell, which I find works much better for training in Software. The book covers fundamentals in Excel, and also more advanced features like charting, data-management, formulas and graphic manipulation.

It's a great guide to have to hand when teaching yourself Excel and can bring you up to a competent level very quickly.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 8 March 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This guide is from the Which? organisation who are well-known for providing straightforward and honest advice and recommendations about all sorts of consumer goods and services. Here they have produced a book as a guide to Excel 2010, which is full of examples, easy to follow, clear text, and lots and lots of useful screenshots. I find these images really helpful and important in a book like this because I can refer to them to confirm that what I should have on the screen in front of me after following the written instructions looks the same as what they show in the book, and thereby know that I am working along the right lines. There are plenty of full colour screenshots; I think there's one or more on virtually every page.

The book is organised into logical sections, beginning with getting started and the basics of opening and saving a workbook. Then it moves on to worksheets and cells, formulas and functions, photos and graphics, and viewing and analysing date. There's also a section on keyboard shortcuts, a `jargon buster', and a decent index.

I think this is a very accessible book with clear text and helpful images, and is an ideal starting point for teaching yourself about Excel. It should be particularly useful for anyone who is totally new to using the Excel software and also for people who can use it a little but would like to learn a bit more and improve their skills. I imagine that there are much more advanced things that can be done with the software which may not be covered here, but this is certainly a useful introduction or refresher.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 December 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Excel 2010 made easy

I chose this book because where I work I have to use spreadsheets, and I often forget some of the very simple concepts about spreadsheets.

I began to work through this book at a slow pace, just as if I was learning to use spreadsheets for the very first time. The writers of the book assume that the user really doesn't know anything about spreadsheets, which is a very good premise to work from.

The style of the book is clear: it shows a typical spreadsheet with data, and explains what it all means, giving the correct names (for example `cell' and `column'). The first section is straightforward, and is designed to `get started' using a spreadsheet. Yes, it does include such basic items as how to print a spreadsheet. All throughout the book, which is in colour, it gives a `photoshot' of the spreadsheet and highlights the area that is being worked on, and giving a beautifully clear description of what to do, and how to do it.

The next section is about the spreadsheet, adding data, moving data, modifying the data, and formatting. A typical problem is after entering written data into a cell, being able to see all that data, and this section shows how to make the text fit. Within this section, it gives a example of a birthday party, and how to change font, size, colour, alignment, before it moves into conditional formatting.

The third section, which is always a hard one, is the formulae and functions area. But this book really does `excel' by working through and giving very clear guidance and instructions. Interestingly, although this is potentially the most complex area of using spreadsheets, the book shows just the basics - which is probably the most sensible option. It prevents overload!

The fourth area is related to inserting and using graphics and photographs. I haven't explored this, as it's not something I'll be intending to use. Towards the end of the book, it begins to show how to create a table - such as a sparkline. What I really would have liked to see is how to create pie charts, etc., although there is a very brief demonstration of creating tables.

Overall though, this is a brilliant and well written introduction to Microsoft Excel. It should be remembered though it is only an introduction, and doesn't go into the more detailed work that this powerful spreadsheet can achieve. But for those of us who struggle with spreadsheets, this is a resourceful book which will prove to be invaluable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 25 November 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The range of computer guides 'made easy' are all well laid out with good use of colourful screen shots and clear highlighting of what to click in a step-by-step approach. It is for Excel 2010 working on the Windows 7 platform.

There are 5 chapters and a resources section at the back which gives keyboard shortcuts, a jargon buster and index. The 5 chapters are: Get Started; Worksheets and Cells; Formulas and Functions; Photos and Graphics; View and Analyse Data.

While it is aimed at novice users and would enable someone to get going with Excel without any prior use, I would say I was an intermediate user and there are a few things in this guide that I didn't know about. My husband is more of a novice user and he's found it excellent for getting to grips with more than just the basics.

The guide is fuss-free and well laid out. Instructions are easy to follow and graphics are helpful. Highly recommended for new and novice users of Excel 2010.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 November 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a difficult one as I have some knowledge of Excel, but things like Pivot tables have missed me by. I found the book well laid out with some excellent illustrations and clear instructions. The book isn't going to take you from novice to Excel master, but it does cover enough ground in a `friendly' manor to let you get a grasp of the key principles or recap some of the things you weren't clear about (for example relative and absolute cells). With Excel being included in the Microsoft office suite of programs and actively used in most organisations, I would recommend this relatively inexpensive book as a good way of picking up the basics.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 January 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I use excel sometimes in my job. Far from an expert. I found this book is very useful. The book assumes no previous knowledge, but by the end you've encountered formulas, can create charts and are able to view and analyse data.If you are an occasional user and want to develop your skills, it's good for that too. The presentation is colourful and easy to follow.
I would have liked a resource base of spreadsheets to practise on rather than having to create from scratch, which takes time. That niggle aside, this is an excellent resource and is thoroughly recommended. Microsoft Excel 2010 Made Easy
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)