Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
102
4.5 out of 5 stars


on 30 March 2015
A great little book, It records the kind of humour and resilience we Brits seem to be known for, when in extreme adversity. How soldiers living in the front line trenches, surrounded by the filth and death, for weeks at a time, could come up with a regular and amusing, news-paper make my mind boggle somewhat. Reading it the first time, with all its limitations, made me proud to be of the same nation as the producers and contributors of this the '1st war trenches newspaper'.
This is a worthy, if modest addition to the bookshelf of anyone with a real interest in the First World War, providing some of the human interest and a realisation of what the writers and all our men went through and how they coped with the horrors of trench warfare.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2017
The Wipers Times is a very good record in print of the humour, which was sometimes dark in nature, but, it helped to relieve the hell of life in the trenches of the Western Front during WW1.
The paper was probably something the soldiers looked forward to reading, and to take their minds off what they were going through at the time.
An important part of the history of WW1.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
really lovely to read copies of actual papers read by the british troops 1914/18 even amongst the filth /gas/trench foot etc the british sense of humour shone through these men are real heroes
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2017
The font size in the Kindle version is far too small to read and is not adjustable in the normal way. This version is not fit for purpose and I have asked for a refund.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2013
An odd look first world war history and a good copy of all the issues of the wipers times (the first world war trench newspaper). My one issue with this book is that I needed to have another book to tell me what was going on at the time to get all the jokes. In my case I was reading online newspaper archives while reading the book. Don't expect it to all be funny or for you to get all the references.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2017
This is an outstanding satirical commentary on an insane period of British Army history.
Super insight into sanity over insanity
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2013
A wonderful find. How on earth can there be that much sardonic wit, sad poetry and satire amongst the "Whizz-Bangs" .

As the French say - "chapeau".

Eric Prince
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
The tv production based on the book was excellent, if I had read the book first I am sure I would have found it a lot more enjoyable. Have to remember it is clips from a numerous newspaper rather than the story of the men who produced it. The content reflects the so called 'Britsh sense of humour' when in dire situations. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2013
Both hilarious and yet sad at times when one remembered the circumstances under which this newspaper was produced. Bought it for a Christmas present for someone I know will love it, but have kept it for myself! Couldn't bear to part with it. Shall have to purchase another one now for a present!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2014
Very much appreciate the humour of the British tommy in the terrible circumstances they found themselves in during WW1. The stoical spirit of the troops in the terrible conditions in which they worked, lived and fought is something to be admired the whole world over.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)