Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
105
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 August 2013
The book was down loaded so postage wasnt a problem. The content was excellent although the drawings are not so good on the kindle I would advise anyone who wants a complete laugh with Jack Speak to purchase the book to get the whole experience
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2013
I bought this book as a gift for a friend in the States as often enough she could not always understand certain things I would say. She was very pleased with it, and now understands me fully. Lol
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2012
What can I say about JACK SPEAK, written by a saw bones, as a former 20 year Vet (STOKER PO RNZN) who served a year in UK picking up HMS Dido I could have done with a book like this for translation purposes, a lot of the sayings did transfer to the RNZN, good dit well recomended, just dont give it to a civy it would be wasted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
I bought this book as a present for a son who is working with the Navy at the moment (he is not in the Navy), as he said they had a copy in the office that is used all the time, so I thought I'd buy him his own copy. It is referred to often !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
As ex Naval I found this one of the funniest books I have read and one that brings back all the lovely (and not so lovely!) memories of a lower deck to upper deck career.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2016
Being ex Royal Navy AKA a Matelot this is a book very close to my heart, it's nice sometimes to have a flick through and have a giggle at some of the Jackspeak we used to use while in the mob. Rick Jolly the author is a naval legend and a very good bloke to boot. I've personally met the chap a couple of times now. This book is a must for anyone buying for an old sailor or even maybe if you're about to join the Royal Navy you could consider this as homework or research. Believe me if you know half the stuff in this book you're well on the way to being a true matelot!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
This book was purchased for a retired naval friend who served following WWII and is very active within the association. He said it was a good surprise and was very pleased with it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
Funny, informative and very well written.
This book brought back so many memories. I bought this for an Army friend so we could communicate!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2016
JACKSPEAK is the result of over forty years of research by Rick Jolly and Tugg’s cartoons. The alternative author’s biography is every translator’s not to be missed challenge.

The Author’s Preface is the life story of JACKSPEAK, which had its start when the author a then very green and still very much wet behind the ears Surgeon Lieutenant in Her Majesty’s Royal Navy congratulated a Royal Marine for managing to catch the boat up during the 1971 difficult times in Malta. That never forgotten embarrassment was the impetus of forty years of much work, much help and the many people all of whom I signal BZ, BZ…Bravo Zulu.

The best way to review JACKSPEAK is to begin with a statement from Oxford Dictionary. (...)“Language Matters At Oxford Dictionaries, we have just one thing in mind: improving communication through an understanding and passion for language. That’s JACKSPEAK: Communications through an understanding and passion for language, the language of the Jacks.

Who is Jack? Indeed, who are the Jacks? For the answer one needs to turn the pages of JACKSPEAK to Chapter JULIET, pages J – 241 to J – 252, since the explanation is nearly a full page, I shall turn the pages back to Chapter ALPHA, page A – 1 and explain that every chapter is given the International Radiotelephony Spelling Alphabet: Alpha, Bravo…all the way to Zulu the last chapter of JACKSPEAK and the last word in JACKSPEAK; in JACKSPEAK the word Zulu has four meanings.

JACKSPEAK is Bravo Zulu. In the star system, JACKSPEAK is Admiral of the Fleet. I highly recommend JACKSPEAK. It is a dictionary that can proudly stand at attention side by side to Oxford’s Dictionary, Oxford’s Thesaurus, Oxford’s Etymology, Oxford’s Grammar and Oxford’s Style Manual, after all JACKSPEAK is all of the aforementioned for Her Majesty’s oldest organised fighting force, and for the Jack, the Jenny and the Royal that have kept the oldest organised fighting force in good working order for centuries.

Richard Francis McDonald
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
Great book - updated version. Totally refreshing and hilarious to be reminded of some often forgotten facts of life! Recommeded
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse