Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
16
4.8 out of 5 stars
The British Home Guard Pocketbook
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£6.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 31 January 2014
Having lived through the second World War as a boy, what I learned was that the Home Guard were well trained in the City of Portsmouth and the surrounding area. When visting Uncles and Aunts in the surrounding Villages, my Mother and I often saw them going through their drills. We mostly visited at week-ends which was the time most men were off of work. In my minds eye, I can still see those men in the fields and woodlands , some in camouflage, carrying out mock battles. This book is an excellent insight to the way in which they were instructed. I would certainly recommend this book to anyone who wishes to learn about the Home Guard in the War period.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
...This is an interesting insight to his life and times. "Dad's Army" is a light-hearted but accurate enactment of how things were but England did have her back to the wall. There has never been another time like the 40's. Well worth perusing.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2017
Great addition to my British Home Guard Collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
THE BRITISH HOME GUARD POCKET BOOK 1942 By BRIG-GEN A.F.U GREEN (Published 2009)
This book will give you an insight into what being a Soldier or Home Guard meant in the 1940s, as this book delve's into the 'Role' of the Home Guard.

The book covers:
a) The Organisation - The Battalion, The Platoon, The Office - i.e.: Enrolment, Medicals, Proficiency Tests;
b) The Training, The Drill, Dive Bombers & Parachutists;
c) Weaponology - Rifles, Rifle Range, Firearm Certificates, Musketry, Ammunition And Explosives;
d) Equipment - Maps, The Compass, The Artillery, Tanks, Sand Bags.
e) Strategy,Tactics & Communications - The Work - The Attack, Field Engineering, Digging Trenches,The Co-operation And/Or The Combined Exercises With All Other Civil Defence Services - i.e.: The Military, The Police, The Church.

There are pictures, drawings, sketches throughout the book.
There is a Contents page at the front of the book and there is an Index at the back of the book. All of this will enable you to tailor your studies to suit your personal needs.

Thank You!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2011
This is an easily understood book. It starts with the ethos of the HG and then instructs members in how to drill, organise fight etc as an effective force. With the benefit of hindsight it appears to summarise the attitudes of Britain just before the war started to swing away from the axis powers. Above all it is a good example of a basic military manual from the early 1940s.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 30 September 2009
This is the updated version of Brigadier-General A.F.U. Green's 1940 original edition. After six impressions of that pocket book Green expanded and changed some things after receiving feedback and thus brought out this newer edition. I don't personally know anyone who was a Home Guard as both my great grandads dies just before and shortly after I was born and like most people I always think of the great comedy series Dad's Army. There must have been some like that in the Home Guard, but there would have been those who were serious and quite capable of doing their duties. Employed amongst its ranks were former soldiers with battle experience, theives and poachers. In small groups these people would have had very good and extensive local knowledge meaning that if the enemy had ever landed they would have definitely been able to harry them. When Hitler's armies were marching across Europe and the evacuation of Dunkirk it must have felt inevitable that we would fall at some time and the Home Guard or LDV as it was first known as would have been a morale booster as well as increasing the number of armed persons we could have thrown at the enemy. Whether the Home Guard would have been much of a threat to German soldiers we thankfully never had to find out, but with their local knowledge and the number of resourceful people that must have joined them they could have proved quite effective, even if they only did observation and guide duties for the regular armed forces.

This little book contains information on weapons, drill, communications, tactics etc. it is a positive mine of information and Green had other qualified people to write some sections thus making it very comprehensive for its size. If you are into the Second World War or military history this would be a great little addition to your library and would make a great little present for anyone you know who is into those things. There is an excellent introduction by Brian Lavery about this book and others, as well as a short biog of Green as well as the Home Guard. At the back are some great cartoon pics of the Home Guard.
22 Comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2011
An interesting insight into what was expected from the home guard.
Some very funny anecdotes , not politically correct in today's world - esPecially how to treat the Sprinfield rifle.
Good value at a low price.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2014
Excellent value, quite an amusing and informative read, bodes well with our reenactment society.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2015
prompt service. Thank goodness the Jerris didn't invade... there are some nutty ideas on how to send them back over the channel. the author was a real 'Colonel Blimp'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
The book arrived very quickly indeed. I bought it for my grandson who is studying the Second World War at school. This book, with a diet of Dads' Army have been a great help. Thankyou
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)