Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
47
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 December 2013
This is a very good book full of lots of information regarding one of the best British tv shows ever. Unlike many other Dad's Army books this one is actually written by one of the cast, the infamous ARP Warden Hodge, the late great Bill Pertwee. The book covers lots of areas regarding the series, from the locations to background information and a comprehensive overview of the cast, both main cast and guests as well as other topics.

Defining well worth reading for fans of such a great show, highly recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I originally chanced upon this book in a bookstore and was intrigued that it appeared to be written by one of the Dad's Army team, Bill Pertwee, aka Air Raid Precautions (ARP) Warden Hodges. There have been several books written about this iconic and extremely popular TV and radio series written by Jimmy Perry and David Croft but in my opinion this is the best because it was written by one of the team. In a sense this book is like an autobiography of the series with many personal anecdotes and photographs that only a member of the Dad's Army would have access to.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2016
The book is not quite as detailed as I thought it was going to be. It included a lot of stuff which I already knew and very little I did not. However it was enjoyable to flick through and remember this great programme and its unique cast of actors.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2013
A very impressive book full of good photos and lots of information and well presented and a book you will never be tired of picking up and dipping in and out of an iconic show that still delights today ,a must for any Dad's Army' fans.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
Biographies on all the major players in the series and some reasonable insights into filming and how they all got on with each other. If you loved the series and want to know a little bit more about the people in it then its the book for you
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2011
Bill Pertwee played the Warden in Dad's Army and offers a unique insight into the actors and the making of the show which has not been published before. Bill still keeps in tocuh with the surviving members of the cast. This book is different and unique compared to the book written simply about the show and the producers and has some excellent photos. A worthwhile read. Mark from Adelaide, South Australia.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2015
Lovely book for any fan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2014
This is agreat book for the price and written by a actor the late great Bill Pertwee who played Hodges the Green grocer in the Great TV show,so it was a nice change reading abook about a a True great TV show were the writer was one of the main stars in the show,becouse i have bought many Dads Army books as well as Only Fools books written by a writer wishing to thank people for helping him write this book,which is not the same as some one who was truly there.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2011
This is an absolute must have for any fan of the classic sit-com 'Dad's Army'. Written by Bill Pertwee who played Warden Hodges, the book features many stories concerning the stars of this much loved show. It gives an inside look from someone who was actually there and it is an excellent book.

There are listings of every episode from TV to radio, sections on the movie and stage show and also a round up of the character's featured, including minor ones. There is very little left out and this really is a book that is very difficult to put down once you start browsing through it. There are loads of colour and black and white photos, many of them I had never seen before.

I know that there are quite a few books out there about this programme but the fact that this is compiled by a cast member makes this unique and very hard to beat. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2012
This has been my all-time favourite TV comedy series for many years.
I watched them all as they were initially broadcast and when they became available I bought the full set on DVD.
Bill Pertwee's writing takes the reader into so much detail about all the episodes and the acting careers and
lives of all the cast. I can watch episodes over and over again and still get so much enjoyment from them.
I'm sure I'll be doing the same with the book. Well done, Bill.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)