Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 January 2008
This book is absolutely FANTASTIC! The recipes, mostly from West Africa, range from very simple side dishes, that you could add to more familar fare, to complex fish, vegetable and meat dishes. All are clearly described and well illustrated (i'm no great chef but like to experiment in the kitchen and, having received this book just 2 weeks ago have already tried 6 or 7 of the recipes. All of them have turned out successfully - as far as I can judge - and all of them I will definately make again). There's also a nice section at the beginning explaining what some of the more unfamiliar basic ingredients you'll need to find are. BUT there is so, so much more to this book . . . you'll need to go out and visit those stalls in the local market that you were never brave enough to approach and find out how to judge the ripeness of a 'Plantain', choose your 'Yam' as well as find some extraordinary new ingredients like 'Egusi', 'Gari' and 'Palm Oil' that'll change your kitchen forever. . . and might just change your life.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2007
Cant cook - well u can with this book . I actually bought this book for my sister- in -law but have now returned to purchase another 2 copies ,one for me and another for another friend who cant cook either . Excellent easy to follow recipes it makes cookery so much more fun !!!!!Highly recommended
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2012
Being of African heritage, I was asked to buy a suitable cookbook on African dishes from someone born and bred in England. In terms of value for money, this is far and away the best book I found. The dishes are mostly from the west of Africa, which is no bad thing, and it is simple, easy to follow and contains a detailed summary of the main ingredients used in the recipes. I could call it the Ronseal of African cookbooks but that wouldn't quite cover the author's acessible and galvanising enthusiasm for the subject or the inspiring photographs the book contains. I defy anyone interested in this genre of cooking not to try at least one recipe straight away after looking at the book. A valued purchase.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2011
Excellent book, well presented and laid out with good pictures of dishes. Recipes clear and easy to follow. Good selection of recipes from across Africa.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2009
While many of the recipes make interesting use of traditional african cooking ingredients, it's completely misleading to suggest that any adequately represent actual african dishes. None of the west african named dishes come close to the originals.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2011
Really good recipes - especially the kofta curry one!, easy to follow and easy to clean! I collect cookbooks, and I have to say this one is the best in my collection!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2012
I bought this when going through a phase of attempting to cook different dishes from around the world. This cookbook is not the smallest of books out there (so bear that in mind if you are going to need the counter space to follow instructions and prepare dishes) but it has some interesting and quirky recipes that are worth a try. Although I do have to admit on showing this to two of my friends who are from different parts of Africa I have been told that the menus have been adapted to suit European taste. For that reason I give the book four stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2014
Can't wait to save the money to be able to try out all these recepies , which one to try first
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2015
Bought as a present for a friend and it was very much loved!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2016
loved this book. simple recipes and tasty.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)