Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 September 2017
This is the second of the George Smiley vs Karla stories. At the beginning, we are introduced to Jerry Westerby who featured in Tinker, Taylor, Soldier, Spy.

The characters of this story are wonderfully crafted and I enjoyed the way we got to learn of these various protagonists through interviews with people who knew them from the past. These meetings and interviews are done via Connie Sachs, George Smiley etc during the middle part of the book as they gather information from parents and friends about various people who George Smiley wants to use or compound. A wonderful picture develops of the players in this new game of espionage. The British Secret Service is recovering from the shock of high-level Soviet infiltration and with its damaged reputation, George Smiley decides upon a British espionage offensive in the Far East of Hong Kong and Laos at a time when the Vietnam War is drawing to its conclusion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2017
This was the book that got me interested in Spy novels and Le Carre. Not his best book (The Spy Who Came in From the Cold) but still very good. Worth reading the trilogy, of which this is Book 2
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2017
All excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2017
A delightful fictional case study which can almost be cast as faction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2017
Arrived on time, a book that's written by one of the great British spymasters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2017
Great book .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2017
Too long by far and a silly ending.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2010
I am working my way through the new BBC John LeCarre series and loving every minute of them. The production is crisp and clear, the acting exemplary and the adaptations convey all the drama and tension you want from a cold war thriller.

At three hours long this is perfect for a long car journey or, as I did, a long afternoon sitting in the chair as the cold grey skies rolled past outside the window. As they say, radio has the best pictures and these are better than most movies.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2014
NEW TO THIS TRILOGY, I FOUND THIS EPISODE QUITE HEAVY GOING AND NOT PARTICULARLY EXCITING ENOUGH FOR ME. THE PREVIOUS BOOK, TINKER TAYLOR SOLDIER SPY, I HAVE NOT READ, BUT KNOW THE STORY. HAVE CHOSEN TO READ THE NEXT IN THE TRILOGY. SMILEYS PEOPLE.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2012
This is the first book I have purchased for my new Kindle. I found the book was OK except for one major problem. It is quite common for two, or even three, words to be run together because the spaces between words are missing. This really slows down reading the book while you try to figure out what these words are supposed to be. If I'd found this problem with a paper book I would have taken it back to the retailer and asked for a refund on the grounds of poor quality. But this option does not seem to be available with Amazon. I have heard from other Kindle users that they too have encountered this problem, so it is clear that Amazon is not into quality control. Very disappointing.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)