Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
1,393
4.5 out of 5 stars
Slave Girl
Format: Paperback|Change


on 15 August 2017
An interesting book on how an innocent young girl got duped into going to Amsterdam on a job offer that turned out to be imprisoned in a brothel in the red light district. The red light district is not as it seems to be with young woman working in the sex industry. They are controlled by pimps who beat and rape them into submission. It's impossible for them to escape because there's no where they can go as the Police are also in on it. This young lady was lucky there were 2 officers in Amsterdam that were looking for her as there was a rumour going around the red light district about a British girl that was duped into going to Amsterdam on pretense of being a child nurse but was sold into the sex trade. When Sarahgoy a chance to run away, she turned up at a police station. It was touch and go but she met up with the 2 officers that were looking for her. She was spirited out of the Netherlands to Belgium. Her Mother came over to Belgium to be with her. She had a hard road to recovery and still is suffering with memories and bad dreams and drug addiction. This was in the early 2000's and I dread to think it's probably going on still today in 2017. Sarah is a survivor and lived to tell her story.
review imagereview image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 2 July 2015
I have never been to Amsterdam but I always imagined the famous Red Light District was this: a sort of well-managed Disneyland of sex where cheerful and healthy hookers happily ply their trade for curious tourists and boozy, high-spirited, sexually adventurous lads on stag nights. Sarah Forsyth's harrowing account reveals a sordid, brutal culture where sex-trafficked women are held as slaves and exploited by ruthless pimps - themselves engaged in vicious turf wars with each other. Conned by an advert, Sarah travels to Amsterdam believing she will be taking up a post as a nanny, only to be hustled out of the airport, bundled into a car and driven into Hell on Earth. Sarah's story is extremely distressing - and not just her nightmare experience as an unwilling Amsterdam sex slave. Her troubles begin in childhood with an abusive father and further abuse suffered in various care homes. I do like to read the occasional misery memoir, but this one was almost too much to bear. Approach this book with caution; it is deeply disturbing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
I was recommended this book by a friend. We live a very short drive from Sarah's town and she's only 3 years older than me. This story was terrifying. I vaguely remember Sarah's story being talked about when it emerged.
As someone who's been to the district in Amsterdam (albeit a very short walk down a street because I found it very uncomfortable and disturbing) im horrified by the reality and the ignorance of the government there, and of ours with the massive problem we have in the UK.

Will be downloading her next book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2017
I absolutely loved reading this book. Horrifying, disturbing and gripping. One of those books you cannot put down. What a terrible life Sarah had. Such a well written book. A must read. Worth every penny.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2017
It is so sad that any person like Sarah who has the courage and determination to share their experiences has to cope with people who don't believe her!
It says so much about their lack of integrity and ignorance.
As difficult as it may be to accept that modern day slavery and trafficking is rife unless we can face it we won't get closer to exposing it and putting a stop to the absolute misery these people are forced to endure.
Well referenced and written
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2013
Having heard of the 'slave trade' and sexual exploitation of women I read this to better understand the ordeal that women in this 'trade' experience. Prior to reading Sarah's account I had known, in my naivety, that there was a cesspit where some women were coerced into this as a way of making a living not fully understanding that this was not a life choice but a life or death decision.
It is difficult to comprehend how people, human beings, can use, abuse and degrade another person to this extent. From her chilhood through into young adulthood Sarah ceased 'to be', her innocence, indivduality, identity were scoured from her very soul and she lives with that still.
It should be mandatory for school children, of an appropriate age, and adults, particularly males that visit and pollute Amsterdam and its like, to read this traumatic story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2017
But that is not a reason to avoid it. Well written, frightening, heartbreaking. This will play on my mind for a long time yet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
This book is very telling it makes you wake up and smell the coffee of the unbelievable way humans can treat one another, the physical and mental abuse endured and for what male gratification!, no other living creature would behave in such away and I congratulate both the author and more importantly Sarah Forsyth for being so brave and frank about telling us about this environment when it would have been so much easier to keep this locked away.
This book saddened me and brought back many memories of my childhood within the care system, one which I feel fails vulnerable children as much today as it did all those years ago in the 1960's and 1970's.
I would recommend this book to all though who have a conscience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2012
What a terrible life this poor girl has had, from being abused by her Farther who should of protected his little girl, then the shameless men in the care home, then on to being kidnaped to be a sex slave in Amsterdam, the trauma Sarah must of gone through I just can't comprehend, Sarah I hope you find peace of mind & happiness in the future, you deserve that much. Thanks for sharing your story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2017
Great book. So tragic but so brave
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)