Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
10
4.5 out of 5 stars


on 29 May 2010
Despite its bleak cover and foreboding title, this really is a great book.

It's not exactly bed-time reading; much more a useful reference volume.

The author has done a fine job in listing all of the judicial hangings that were carried out in the UK during the last 64 years of capital punishment.

From the most famous cases to virtually unheard of murders, they are all here. The dramatic and the mundane. The miscarriages and the `bang-to-rights'.

Each entry has a detailed outline of the crime and trial - this isn't merely a catalogue. The author has researched plenty of background and each case can be seen for what it was.

There seem to be a large number of - what we would call today - 'domestics', which is particularly sad.

On an entirely personal note; my special interest was in one case of the 1950's. My Dad was actually arrested as a suspect in that murder! Eventually the police got the right man and my Dad was cleared! He was used as a witness for the prosection at the trial. The hapless murderer was hanged and he`s here within these pages. Had things not gone the way they did I might not be here writing this now.

Great book for all armchair sleuths - and local historians, too, I would think.

Barry
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2017
An Encyclopedia without a name index !!!!! You can only use its near 1000 pages for reference if you know the date of a crime or the town involved. It will tell you who was executed on Mondays, Tuesdays etc, or the month and year of trials / sentences. BUT, if you try to look up, say, the crime of Ruth Ellis.....she is not listed. If you remember her case was in the 1950s then you have to scour between pages 774 and 894,ie 1950 to 1959 and try to find her. It took me over 30 minutes. There isn't even a list of crimes for, say, the year 1950....you get a list of all the crimes committed on the first of January 1907 to 1958, then the second January 1907 to 1959.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
This is a BIG informative book that provides the background and trial of every murderer who was found guilty and executed throughout the United Kingdom. Whilst it is well written and factual - and definitely a labour of love by its author - it is the kind of book you read in sections, and return to periodically. I had hoped this book may have given some insight into the motives of so many murders or whether or not capital punshment was a deterrent - but having only progressed a quarter of the way through so far, in my opnion, the jury is still out. If anything, the contents of this book proves how utterly pointless many of these crimes were but fascinating all the same.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2010
Having being into true crime for sometime I found this book to be of great interest.The author has done a excellent job of listing all the men and women who have been hanged from 1900 to 1964.
Information is supplied in good detail on all the people who were executed and the crimes they committed.
This book has been a great addition to my collection of true crime books.Highly recommended to any one with passing interest of true crime.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
An excellent reference book that has obviously been well researched by the author and the people who ably assisted him. Contains fascinating information from the little-known criminals to the ones who have almost become household names. Well worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2012
That is probably the best book I have got. It is a pleasure to read it and it is exciting. Until the death penalty was abolished, it gives detailed information behind every execution. Highly reccomend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2014
Love this book had lost the hard back copy I had very good history book of the justice system arrived very quickly
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2016
Great reference book, a very interesting read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2015
thanks for the item
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2011
good factual book with outline to the crimes committed to warrant the death sentence,no exaggerated bits added on like a lot of biographies, just a good read in plain english,last chapter is very good where Dernley gives his views on the death sentence,would have liked more photos though but its a good read for anybody whos interested in true crime.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)