Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.2 out of 5 stars
11
3.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£24.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 May 2004
I have had 'the definitive Bob Dylan songbook' now for two days and sadly have been sitting with it for as long as time allows. Of course I am a huge Dylan fan appreciating the early days stuff to the latter. Whatever song appears in my head I flick to the index at the front of the book and it is there, the book caters for every era in Dylans career and I cannot see why anybody could realistically be dissapointed in this songbook.The only song that I would have liked to learn, that is not in the book is 'Moonshiner'off of the Bootleg series. Which is a shame but thats just me being picky.
The pages are very thin, so you have to be careful when turning them that you dont rip them, but they always fall nicely so that the lyrics and chords can be viewed easily.
I got this book as a birthday present from my friends and am very, very pleased with it. I would honestly recommend it to anyone who enjoys a good strum and loves Dylans lyrics. Every classic song of every classic album is here.
Even if you are not the biggest Dylan fan in the round world its still a very good lesson in songwriting, but dont take my word for granted, go on you know you wanna learn some dylan tunes, and then some more!
22 comments| 66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2008
fantastic for lyrics and quantity of songs. pages stay open nicely. however, many of the songs have completely the wrong chords. none consider open tunings or capo placements(...so a song originally played in d with a capo on 1 is here listed in Eb thus rendering playing bob dylan style strums pretty impractical unless you put that capo on and figure out the proper chords for yourself. i wouldn't recommend it.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2004
I have been looking for a while for a book which has all the lyrics to his songs- and i have found it! It is very clear to read and has all the great songs that i was after. I thoroughly recommend it!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2007
I've bought several books of sheet music of Bob's over the years, but they've all been metaphorically chucked out of the window since the release of this epic tome. Unpretentious and complete, it is now possible to seek out all of those classics and,perhaps more importantly, those little nuggets that mean something special to you but not your average compiler, pick up your guitar and play them.

What more can us mere mortals ask for? A private gig by Bob in the back garden? Oh go on then.....
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2008
As another reviewer noted, the chords just aren't right in half of these songs. For example I tried playing "Shelter from the storm" which was down as D, A, G, D, I listened to the track and it's actually E, B, A, E. There's nothing mentioned about a capo or a different tuning it's just wrong. There's a lot in this book but you may find yourself penning in the correct chords.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2011
Bought this as a beginner to learn to strum some good quality songs. Because tabs are wrong or poorly annotated this has been a waste of money.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2011
If you just want a book of Dylan lyrics, this is fantastic. However if your a musician who wants to play along and wants chords, look elsewhere - a lot of these songs the chords are nothing like the ones Dylan played. I highly recommend the Little Black Songbook if your a guitar playing Dylan fan
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
useful for the lyrics but whoever arranged the chords has done the job in a hurry and without any thought for the player and without any interest in how it was played originally. absolutely terrible. no use of the capo, difficult barre chords, and often not even the right key. fortunately the paper is as thin as toilet paper. which is probably what i will be using it for. 0/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
This book is advertised as 29th October 2003 but was in fact published in 2001 and does contain any songs released after 1997. Neither accurate nor definitive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2014
perfect for words and music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)