Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
33
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 February 2015
Even though I am an experienced artist (and been at it for 50 years) I found this book most enjoyable and helpful.It helps remind one of things you take for granted or may have forgotten. Superb for anyone at the beginning of their painting career or for the hobby painter
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
If you ever thought that abstract painting consisted only of throwing paint at canvas, think again! There is enough in this book to keep you working at producing eloquent abstracts. There is much to think about - composition, colour balance, texture, the ability to "see" abstractly and to extract abstract shapes and forms from what you see. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2013
Ideal for trying a very wide range of techniques. Great visuals but a pity the artworks were not labelled with a title so you could analyse the thinking behind the paintings
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 10 September 2013
Following on from her other two successful books from the same publisher, Rolina shows 50 studies, demonstrating a wide variety of techniques. The paintings include different media such as oil pastel, acrylic, collage, chalk, gels and how to include sand, text and print in your work. 350 images show work in progress and finished work.

This book is a way to build your own visual language following the studies, tips and techniques. Each study involves a task and one or more techniques. Learn how to incorporate texture. This book is for anyone who loves to play with paint. Explore the ideas that speak to you or work through the techniques one by one. Experimentation is a good way to develop your work.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2016
Not really for the complete beginner like me, but this is full of inspiring ideas and photographs. The book could have done with just a couple of pages devoted to the basic techniques of dry-brushing and blending in a step-by- step with photos format, and the instructions for each project would have been easier to follow if put in a less off-hand and cursory manner, but all in all a great reference book to keep in the bathroom for a more relaxed perusal thereof!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2015
Full of fantastic artwork to illustrate different concepts, techniques and use of colour described in the book. Brought it into my Abstract Art Class a couple of times, and we all enjoyed looking through it. If I wasn't attending a class, I would have followed some of the projects in the book at home. Keep going back to it for fresh ideas, or just the pleasure of the pictures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
One good book/read and written by a quality author, This book has give me many tips/good ideas.. thank you, I will be back for more from a seller who always gives great service at a good price....
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2014
This book is an inspiration for anyone who wants to try abstract painting - full of wonderful ideas to try oneself whether you are experienced or not.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2014
Whet your appetite with this valuable reference. I like browsing through the pages for inspiration rather than just copying the methods described.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2015
I return to this book when I want inspiration. Van Vliet leads rather than informs and I like that. The illustrations do not overwhelm but give you confidence to try.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)