Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 June 2003
I have always drawn and painted with watercolour, but never used acrylics before. This book is great if you are new to acrylic painting and full of top tips and explanations. Its well written and has a step by step approach to techniques and methods. It shows how to form a picture, start painting and continue in easy to follow diagrams and colour photo's. A very good book for starters.
0Comment| 109 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2013
great painting in acrylics book with lots of ideas and techniques sample paintings to follow with techniques on use of tone and brushes
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2015
as advertised
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2017
Extremely helpful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2010
Wendy Jelbert begins well - materials, colour mixing and the watercolour and oil techniques of acrylic painting are well explained and illustrated very suitably.

Unfortunately her demonstrations let her down: Daisies on a cliff and Hens on a farmyard are hardly going to excite many people.

Even in a preliminary book, water, reflections, people, trees should be covered. Her only saving grace was a very good section on painting different types of sky.

In view of the price the book is worthwhile but you will soon want to move on.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2012
I can't add an awful lot to the previous review by Pebo which more or less covers how I feel about this book. It's okay as far as it goes and I guess the retail price of £5.95 isn't a lot. Still I'm very glad I bought a used copy for only £1.03 as the usage I've had from this book was pretty limited.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 25 October 2012
This is part of a new series from this publisher of Art Handbooks. The books are small and only 48 pages but they pack in plenty of useful information. Wendy shows techniques, step by step paintings and examples of finished work. This is a good introduction to acrylic painting that does not cost the earth. This review first appeared on yarnsandfabrics website.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2014
Although this book does not have lots of pages, I found it very informative as I am a novice painter of acrylics and keep referring back to it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2013
The book is actually smaller than I thought it would be and therefore the content is limited. But ok for the price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2016
Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)