Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
64
4.7 out of 5 stars


on 24 April 2014
For those of you fed up with those arty farty books that speak of capturing the whims of the elements and being spoken to by the ether of life this is the book for you!

This book is like meeting up with Glyn and having a chat over a bit of driftwood with a handful of acrylics and a cup of coffee. Gone is the advice to buy the best of everything which is off putting in many books and instead Glyn talks of making use of student quality paint and good old cheapo paint your wall brushes. Instantly I am dragging out my driftwood and clawing around in the shed for the paintbrushes I used last week to do the living room.

His style is as you would expect from the cover, no nasty surprises inside. He takes you along on a journey of step by step projects which I might add have good clear pictures, great instructions and handy little tips boxes as well. Collage, laying down the paint, mark making it's all there and more. If you are a fan of Glyn's work then you won't be disappointed in this book, it's a little like standing behind him while he paints and getting all the tips of how he does it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2017
nice book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2017
I bought this and Glyns other book The World of Acrylics and recommend both..inspiring and well written..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2017
Love this book, very clever
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
Glyn uses acrylics with water to thin the paint. He paints with them like watercolor painting.
These step by step projects use watercolour rough paper rather than canvas. There's not much using acrylics straight out of the tube in this book. Inviting landscapes,breathtaking seascapes this book contains nine varied step-by-step projects to follow. Full of techniques,methods and ideas. I would of liked to see some projects where the paints are not watered down.
11 Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
This book is exceptional. It is full of wonderful ideas and help. Most of all it is inspirational and has taken me back to painting with acrylics after I had given up. I have read many books on this subject but this absolutely the best.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2016
This didn't live up to my expectations but would be useful for beginners or as a teaching aid.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
This is a lovely book which is full of wonderful pictures and technical tips on how to achieve similar effects.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2013
Felt inspired after looking and reading through. Good examples and demonstrations I am looking forward to trying out his techniques.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
This is a book which makes me excited about using acrylics, exactly what I wanted. It is an excellent mix of ideas and techniques.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)