Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
48
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
40
4 star
8
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 March 2013
A big thank you to Lucy Swinburne. The author is keenly enthusiastic about her subject, and it shows in her very informative and instructive Drawing Masterclass Amimals book. Her clear, precise instructions as how to the approach a subject, the materials required inbues the reader to try. An excellent book for the beginner and the experienced alike.

The only downside is the istructions at the front of the book regarding the symbols. I tried typing in the web address printed at the bottom of the image to access the video tutorials, but it didn't work. Eventually, I found them on the Lucy Swinburne website.

If you only buy one drawing animals book, buy this. You will not regret it.

I can't wait for her next book to be published.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2013
this book is awesome! lucy swinburne take you through every step, my drawing have inproved so much and ive only had the book for a few days, i would also advise watching her online tutorials that come with this book, it is a pleasure to watch her work.

i will refer to this book time and time again
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2015
A very helpful book with step by step progression photos for each project. Long and short hair is covered as well as elephants, meerkats, horses, cats and dogs. If you use it in conjunction with her website you will get the best benefit, as you can download images and see videos of Lucy drawing the difficult bits. I drew the portrait of Tatra, it took weeks but I learned a lot and am very pleased with the result. You have to be patient if you want to learn how to do animal portraits with graphite.
review image
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 15 January 2013
Wow! This book really made me want to draw animals, and that is something that was never on my to do list. Lucy is an excellent artist and her work speaks for itself. This book covers many types of animal with eleven step-by-step projects to help you improve your drawing skills. There is an in-depth section on mark-making and materials such as surfaces and drawing equipment. Techniques such as fur and whiskers are included. You'll also find information on planning your drawing. I like Lucy's drawing style and her animals are realistic. This book also includes the bonus of free links to online tutorials. Great value for anyone who likes drawing animals. This review first appeared on yarnsandfabrics website.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2015
As someone who took gcse and a level art and hadn't drawn for many years I decided to take it up again I knew how to draw shape,light, dark, depth but it some how lacked that little extra touch this book teaches you this and is great but don't be put off if you've never drawn before as it teaches you from scratch
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2015
This is a fantastic book and has helped me in my drawing so much.I draw a lot of dogs and horses so this has really helped me improve my work.Great instruction and lovely step by step pictures, would absolutely recommend it to anyone wanting to draw animals.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2013
Good step by step guide to the projects in this book, nice detailing of things such as eyes and noses in different animals. Nothing particularly difficult so a beginner could learn a lot. A bonus is the free link to video tutorials by Lucy, although they are quite difficult to watch as the pencil marks are quite pale on the background.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
I loved seeing Lucy Swinburn's art work..so when I found out she was releasing a book I instantly put in an order for it even though I had to wait for quite a few months for it..but it was well worth waiting for..
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2013
I have just bought this book for my ten year old niece. She was thrilled and has started her first project already. The book is beautifully written (and illustrated!) and would appeal to any age group. The author makes the step by step drawings look so easy to do and the video links are really helpful too. There is a wide range of animals to chose , from domestic pets (rabbits, cats and dogs) to larger, wilder animals (leopards, elephants and even meerkats!).
The book, with a set of drawing pencils and pad make a super gift that doesn't involve the computer for a change!
For ages 8 to 88.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2013
Love this book and the clear easy to follow instructions - have learned a lot from just one article and looking forward to attempting more from the book before moving on to own original work.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)