Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
74


on 9 May 2013
I chose this book as I wanted to learn more about creating machine embroidered scenes and a friend advised this book was good I agree
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2018
Beautiful book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 December 2017
So inspirational and crammed with beautiful artwork.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 April 2013
Stitched Textiles: Landscapes
Received this book yesterday and have been unable to put it down since. It's an awesome how-to with loads of step by step instructions both written and photograhic. I love textile art in all it's forms and this is one for the home library. She covers lots of things, including fabric dyeing, thread painting and much more. I would have no hesitation in recommending this book to all lovers of fabrics and mixed media art. AAAA+++++
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 July 2017
Good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 April 2014
I recently became interested in composing pictures made from layered fabrics. Having looked on Amazon at the wide range of books available on this and related areas, I am extremely pleased that I bought this one by Karen Matthews. It is very clear in its instructions, both for the basic technique and for individual projects. The projects themselves cover a wide range of landscape scenes. I was very impressed with the photographs which are bright and clear, the closeups showing in great detail the stitching and different fabrics used to compose the pictures. The photographs cover not only the projects, for which detailed instructions are given, but other compositions by Karen, which with their brief but detailed descriptions alongside the photographs, give much insight into the technique of layering fabrics and stitching to give colourful, realistic results.

I recently attended a Quilting Show in the Midlands where the original works featured in this book were on show. They were instantly recognisable and equally as good if not better 'in the flesh' ! They showed in particular how good the photographs in the book really are.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 May 2013
Beautiful book, cant wait to have a go, all I need is time and peace and quiet which is hard to come by at the moment. One for the future
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 18 June 2013
This is a new series from Search Press of exciting books exploring textiles. Kathleen Matthews shows you how to dye fabric and thread, layer materials for depth, and use machine and hand embroidery to enhance your work. It is a technique used by many textile artists, myself included. There is a good introduction to materials and the design process for the beginner, advanced textile artists might find this too simple. However, these simple ideas are used in this book to produce stunning work. The dyeing section is again for beginners and shows tray dyeing. In Basic Techniques you will find a complete how to project with good step by step instructions and plenty of photographs. This is very easy to follow. In Elements of The Landscape, you will discover how to translate into fabric and stitch the different elements that will enable you to build a landscape. I particularly like the way Kathleen has painted colour charts from photographs. She explores the elements further in Seasons. The Projects in this book are wonderful. They are easy to follow with step by step instructions and photographs. There are five projects: Autumn Woodland, which is my favourite; Flower Garden; Mountain Lake; Sunset Loch and Lavender Farm. This is a beautiful book that brings all the individual elements dye, fabric, stitch together to make wonderful landscapes.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 April 2013
looks excellent just what i need to help me design my own landscapes thanks received quite quickly would order more from the same outlet
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 May 2013
As a dressmaker who has recently taken up quilting and now wishes to move on to more creative sewing this book ticked all the boxes. I like that I don't need to take up silk painting and that fabric dying is optional. Although the author encourages you to do the latter and guides you through the process. There are examples of her work with the added personal touch of knowing where the photos were taken. Most are in the UK and have inspired me to take my camera out and start 'snapping' in preparation for new projects. The book gives you very detailed guidance on making 5 pictures, plus one near the start of the book to show you the process. The photos are of good quality and enable to you to see and understand the stitching she has used. Added to this detailed step by step instructions to help you make your work look realistic. The only thing missing is some tips and hints on presenting and framing your new pictures. I was left wondering how she displays hers.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)