Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 March 2017
This is a superb book and the best resource I've found for stumpwork/raised embroidery.

Others have referred to Barbara and Roy Hirst's book on raised embroidery as the seminal source on this subject: Raised Embroidery: A Practical Guide to Decorative Stumpwork and its focus is on creating human figures. Personally, I far prefer this RSN book as it's handbag size; spiral-bound and easier to work with; and it covers more techniques, stitches and traditional subjects like flowers, insects and birds. Furthermore, this book also provides instructions on how to create human figures.

The more simple stumpwork designs would be ideal as subjects for mounted greetings cards.

I love this book and cannot recommend it highly enough. I now feel inspired to attempt stumpwork embroidery!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Very well written book and good illustrations and instructions. I also like the spiral binding as it make it easy to use when working.
Arrived before expected and packed well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
Seventeenth century embroidery has always fascinated me. Having seen examples of stump work in National Trust houses and museums I have always wanted to try it but never had time! The book is beautifully illustrated with modern examples of the art as well as museum pieces. The text is simple but some of the stitch methods were a little difficult to follow. Well worth buying.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2016
This is so good, and the rest of my group think it's got so much information and the benefit of being ring bound so that it stays flat when you're working from it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
A lovely book - just starting out in using Stumpwork so the clear pictures are really helpful
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2017
I have done some stumpwork in the past but this book inspires me to do more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2016
Usual high standard expected in this series
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 26 June 2011
This book contains all you need to know about stumpwork including a brief history, the materials, framing, techniques, design, applique and stitches. The latter are shown in great detail with step by step photographs and clear instructions. This makes them easy to use in your own designs. The techniques are shown in detail. Photographs of beautiful finished work are inspirational. This is a terrific book for anyone interested in stumpwork and forms part of a series of Royal School of Needlework books. This review first appeared on Karen Platt's book review website.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2013
Easy to follow and full of ideas.Useful for a beginner and the experienced embroiderer.Well worth buying and worth the price.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2014
Great helpful book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)