Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
65
Compendium of Knitting Techniques: 300 tips, techniques and trade secrets
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 31 May 2009
Wonderful book, with many photos, pictures and good concise explanations, suitable for beginners AND experienced knitters. If you want to buy only one knitting book, this is the one to get!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 October 2011
This book not only gives basic instructions on equipment, materials and techniques but is also full of often simple ideas for customising knitwear items. The instructions are clear and easy to follow and not at all intimidating. As someone of average ability I found it both instructive and encouraging but a beginner would not feel overwhelmed, so a book for all abilities.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 April 2013
This is an excellent book for beginners and more advanced knitters. It shows how to cast on in clear easy to understand words and a pictures for several different ways, as it does for casting off and best of all for picking up stitches. It shows how to use stitch holders and then working from them again with words and pictures.There is a design section which helps in choosing colours, about the drape of a yarn, texture, flattering your body shape, adapting knitting patterns (which I have been doing all my knitting life) about changing the yarn, changing the edges, changing the stitch or motif, adding embroidery, adding pockets, changing the neck detail, adjusting the length and adding trimmings. It also includes achieving the perfect fit and there are basic design principles which includes the tension square and there is a section on schematics and graphs and on how to understand charts and symbols.

There are lace and openwork patterns in words as well as cables and twists, knots and bobbles, loops, leaves and bells, edgings, chevron patterns, patchwork squares, Entrelac and frills and flutes. Knitting in the round with circular needles and double-pointed needles is included with stitch patterns for circular knitting and circular knitted shapes, tips for knitting mittens and gloves and socks.

I have only mentioned half of the contents in this indispensable knitting book, if you want to know what else it contains you'll have to buy it and you won't regret it either! As this is a British book there is no need to worry about needle size and yarn weights - hoorah!

I throughly recommend this wonderful book to all knitters!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 July 2013
This is a very comprehensive knitting book which seems to cover all the basic techniques - I was especially interested in the articles on fsewing up etc. The only problem I have is finding the instructions a bit difficult to understand. I've knitted some flowers and found the instructions not clear at all - especially with regard to the abbreviations. I eventually managed after several attempts.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 September 2011
I love this book and have found it most useful, I was not able to do any patterned styles before and have already completed 4 new patterns for a novice this is good , i would advice you buy a row counter as it helps, This book is well put together and will be my friend for a long time to come .
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 January 2011
A must for the keen knitter. Well and clearly written and illustrated. A book for novices or more experienced knitters.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 November 2016
This book is what the title suggests: a Compendium of Knitting Techniques. It covers basic and advanced techniques for knitting, shaping, basic garment design, etc. At the same time, I find the same techniques in the DK "The Knitting Book" by Frederica Patmore and Vikki Haffenden. As a matter of fact, I find the latter a bit more comprehensive in techniques.

What I find this book lacks is techniques which turn a knit into a stunning knit, e.g. it does NOT cover techniques such as jogless joins, dealing with long floats in colour work, matching the casting-on and binding off to the elasticity of the stitch pattern, etc. Throughout the book there are scattered little "tips", but really there is not a proper "problem solving" section at all. Really a shame! Hence the lack of stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 June 2014
This book will work equally well for the beginner as for the person experienced enough to be changing patterns to better suit their purpose. Each would be well served to work from the beginning, with the beginner learning techniques and the experienced knitter being shown how to amend for better drape, fit and flattery of body type. I have been knitting for the best part of 60 years, from the misery of school lessons (all those dropped stitches and knitting back along from the middle of a row without noticing the hole it left) to getting 9 out of 10 for a knitted dragon, with the one point lost for it being under-stuffed. Despite all those hours of knitting in the interim, this book still had a lot of offer and I thoroughly enjoyed looking at it, with the promise of working from it still to come.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 April 2013
I came across this book when I was looking at 'Stitch and Bitch - Knitting'. This book is a fabulous resource for the absolute beginner to the experienced knitter. There is a section on basic techniques; how to hold the needles; how to cast on; how to do plain and purl etc. It gives examples of different stitches, methods for grafting and joining pieces of your work, correcting mistakes and dropped stitches etc. etc. There are examples of trims, edgings, fringes, instructions for knitting with beads, sequins; for making buttonholes and embroidering your knitted pieces. There is even a section on adapting knitting patterns. The photographic illustrations are very clear. All in all, this is a brilliant book and I'm very glad I ordered it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 February 2012
I am really struggling with some basics of knitting and this book has answered nearly all of my questions and also inspired me to try other techniques. Very clear instructions and illustrations. Very highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse