Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now



on 18 October 2010
I have just taken up embroidery (not counting a couple of samplers I made as a 10 year old) and started re-learning all the basic stitches. I heard about Brazilian Embroidery and the tremendous 3D effects you can get using this skill. I bought this book as it seems a in very close alliance to that type of embroidery. I was pleased to read the reviews about Patt Trott's detailed description of the stitches in this book. When the book arrived I was able to get straight down to work with the easy descriptions, as well as finding the good quality photographs of help. She actually only describes 17 stitches in detail, whilst the rest of the book looks at a couple of other techniques for fabrics. There are also 3 projects to do using the described stitches. I am very pleased with the book overall and have already recommended it to stitching friends.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 November 2015
Great ideas, stitches that are new to me. Inspiring me to try some new projects. 62 full colour pages with really easy to follow instructions for stitches such as velvet stitch, banksia stitch and raised leaf stitch. Other instructions include how to create little rocks and create twisted thread tree trunks. Finally there is a gallery of ideas and some projects to try.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 February 2009
I had been to a talk given by Pat Trott (which included seeing and handling some of her mother's exquisite needlework) and liked her down-to-earth, no-nonsense style. This book is just the same - clear, easy to follow instructions with superb photographic illustrations. Also some unexpected good tips on creating backgrounds. An excellent buy.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 June 2016
Honestly and truly this is one of the most useful books you could buy.
Very, very clear instructions and lots of ideas.
Have already bought some for presents.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 June 2017
I attended a course yesterday run by this lady. It was extremely inspirational and helpful, especially gaining tips from Pat. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in hand embroidery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 March 2017
Some great ideas, good buy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 July 2007
This is a really lovely book and the author obviously loves her stitches. The book is not very big but it contains concise step-by-step instructions to creating a variety of textural stitches, some of which are very original, and all of which can be followed by a complete beginner.

The instructions and illustrations are very clear, and there is a lot of extra information such as creating depth, giving a colour wash to the background, and making rocks and stones.

There are also a few projects to give you ideas to get started, but the stitches are great for any use, and I think they would be particularly brilliant for use in embellishing a landscape quilt.

A nice extra book to have around, whatever you sew.
0Comment| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 June 2016
I bought this book as a replacement for its predecessor which was lost during house removal as I have always found it invaluable source of teaching and enjoyment in embroidery workings. Pat Trott explains clearly how to gain the effects you want in your piece of work. If you are a little hesitant about carrying out what seems complicated, have no fear but follow closely what she tells and you will br pleasantly surprised at the results.

I would recommend this book to anyone seriously interested in moving on into more intricate embroidery. A joy and a delight.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 June 2017
the review is pointless. I will not order a book unless I want it???
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 March 2013
Wow, what a lot of different effects you can create with a needle and thread. Easy to follow instructions so it is then down to you as to how you use the techniques you have mastered. There are 4 detailed projects to try.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)