Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
8
Doctor Who - The Reaping (Big Finish)
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 29 December 2014
The Reaping is a very well written Doctor Who story. It features Colin Baker as the 6th Doctor and Nicola Bryant as his companion Peri. I'm not going to go into the storyline as it really is well written but I felt that Peri was never well written in the television series but has been written for wonderfully with Big Finish and they really have expanded the character. This is a good story from Big Finish.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 4 October 2006
The sixth doctor and peri team up on audio again. For only the third time in eighty six stories [if you don't count the two special releases that they did]. After so many stories featuring the sixth doctor and evelyn, it's quite strange to hear him with another companion, as their dynamic is so different.

Prompted by discovering that an old friend of hers died in mysterious circumstances a few months after she left earth, peri and the doctor head to boston in 1984 - the sound effects and the music create the setting very well - and whilst peri gets an uneasy reunion with her mother, played by claudia christian from the babylon 5 tv show, the doctor looks into the death. And discovers that the cybermen are involved. This is not a spoiler, as they're on the cover of the box.

A long story, clocking it at just over two hours, and there are only two episodes, thus each is longer than an hour. You might think this would cause it to drag, but they are gripping enough to hold your attention. ALthough the first is more like this than the second, which could possibly have done with being split down the middle.

I am not going to say too much about the plot of this one because it's very cleverly written and there are lots of twists and turns on the way, some of which will leave you open mouthed in shock. Those cybermen are very cunning! Perhaps even more so than the doctor realises.

The supporting cast are great, and the two leads are typically superb. You will not forget the end of this story for as long as you live. And I won't spoil that for you either [so please don't give this review an unhelpful vote because of that! You'll thank me for it!]

Be aware that there are some loose ends left. They will be tied up in the next release. Doctor who: the gathering. But that's another story. And hopefully it will explain the relevance of a pair of numbers that some of the characters keep quoting....
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 1000 REVIEWERon 18 February 2013
This is the eighty sixth release from Big Finish in their range of full cast audio adventures starring classic Doctor Whos. It stars Colin Baker as Six and Nicola Bryant as Peri. There are 2 episodes, roughly 70 minutes each, complete with original theme music between each, and cliff hanger endings. One episode per disc on 2 discs, and a short booklet with some pictures of the cast and production notes.

After a run of uninspiring releases from Big Finish, this is unexpectedly a belter of a story. Unexpectedly because it sees Six once again paired with Peri (for only the third time in the Big Finish adventures), a combination that I found a little uninspiring in the TV series. However, developments in this story allows the relationship between them to grow, and become a lot more believable. For the first time Peri is really explored and developed as a character, and it is a very welcome development.

The Doctor and Peri are travelling in the future when Peri comes across an old news article describing the death of a friend back in 1984. Travelling back to attend the funeral and to do a little investigating, Peri discovers the ramifications for her family of her sudden departure, and the Doctor discovers some disturbing alien technology.

What follows is a corkingly good story as they try to resolve personal issues and save the world from alien invasion. At 70 minutes an episode it sounds long, but the time just flies by in this involving story that delivers on excitement and emotional involvement.

Baker and Bryant put in sterling performances, especially Baker who gets to show the less egotistical and more compassionate side of Six. The final scenes are actually quite moving, due to the talent of the two actors.

There is also an excellent soundscape on offer here, and this really makes the story stand out. There seems to be always something going on in the background, from birds singing to other characters conversing. It has a feeling of reality about it. And there is an excellent score that really sets the mood and era of the piece.

Not all of the plot strands are tied up, the following release, the Gathering, is a sequel that will explain everything. The Reaping and The Gathering from a trilogy along with seventh Doctor adventure The Harvest.

In all 5 stars for this cracking adventure.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 October 2006
Really was exiceted when i heard about this, as a fan of the new Doctor Who was slightly dissapointed that the Cybermen were from a parallel world not the ones from Mondas as we know from the classic series and I was happy they had returned in this the Reaping. I was gripped from the beginning and there was some great Colin Baker humour in the story at the beginning. Alot of emotional stuff for Nicola Bryant which i felt she brought of brilliantly! The story ends with not everything being tied up which is what I have heard Big Finish next audio play will do 'The Gathering' with Peter Davison's Fifth Doctor. As soon as The Reaping had finished I found myself wanting the Gathering!!!!! Shame its not in stock yet. GRRRRRRRR

Highly recommended

Tom
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 April 2008
I just recently found out about the Doctor Who audio adventures and I have listened to about 6 of them. This is definatley the best so far. It follows the sixth doctor Collin Baker and his assistant Peri and feautures the Cybermen. (Im not giving anything away as a picture of a cyberman is on the box.) It is set in 1984 and Peri comes back home to go to a friends funeral and mayhem ensues. Nichola Bryant as Peri is very good and she reminded me why she is one of my favourite assistants. Collin Baker as the Doctor is also very good and this and his other audio adventures proves my theory that his performences as the doctor on the show were not well loved because of bad writing on the show at the time not coz of bad acting on his part. The writing makes him more mellow and his banter with peri is more light hearted. It runs for 142 mins and is in 2 parts and is a fine addition to the growing Doctor who audio collections.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2015
Brilliant story, I am listening to it now, I love Peri, and Colin Bakers Doctor. He's one of my favourite Doctors, and of course the Cybermen, one of my favourite monsters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 May 2007
This story is one of the best to feature the cybermen, which is surprising as there are actually only two cybermen in the whole story. But as per usual, Joe Lidster has done it again. Written a play with all the right qualities: good strong characters, good dialogue and good twists and turns. I really was surprised by the shock ending of Peri's Mum dying. Quite a sad and well performed ending. Love how the Doctor tricks the cyberleader...ha ha! So overall, yet another classy and cool addition to the big finish range.

was this review helpful to you? Y or N?
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 December 2016
Great Item A++
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here