Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
36
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 April 2017
Awesome book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2005
This beautifully illustrated, timeless classic is read only once a year on Christmas Eve in my house. After 9 years it has become a family ritual along with putting out the mince pie/sherry and carrot! My children ( who are both too old to believe) have both just asked me if they could have a copy themselves to continue the tradition with their children.This is a MUST have if you have children, truly a moment to share!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2014
I was looking for a festive book to read to my two year old daughter in the run up to Christmas, and bought this on the strength of the Amazon customer reviews - so glad I did. It's a brilliant little tale.

The story isn't syrupy sentimental like a lot of kid's Christmas books, it's quite adventurous actually. The language is repetitive (in a good way!), which encourages the child to read along as it progresses. It covers themes of being grateful, being helpful... and of course how brilliant Santa is to the children of the world. The ending is very sweet too. The whole thing is illustrated in a wonderful way, sweeping skies and landscapes abound.

Judging by how well this book has been received - requests for nightly reads for a week or so now, no sign of that stopping - I can confidently say it's a hit in our house, and I expect it'll be a Christmas favourite for many years.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2005
A really lovely story suitable to read all year round but obviously particularly at Christmas. I bought it to read to my class of Year 2's (6-7year olds) and they just loved it. I even bought another copy for my niece. The illustrations are just wonderful and can encourage so much discussion. A must any christmas!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
It is Christmas Eve and Father Christmas is very tired after delivering all his present. One of the reindeer’s does not feel very well, “perhaps it had nibbled something on the way that it should not have…” Father Christmas puts them to bed and is about to go to sleep himself when he noticed that he has left a present behind. The present belongs to Harvey Slumfenburger, whose parents are too poor to buy him anything. The only present Harvey Slumfenburger gets is the one Father Christmas brings him and, even though he is tired and one of the reindeer felt unwell, he knows that he has to take that present to Harvey – who lives in a hut, at the top of the Roly Poly Mountain, far, far away.

This is a delightful story about Father Christmas, leaving his reindeer in bed, and using all different kinds of transport to make it to Harvey Slumfenburger’s home and deliver his present. It has quite a lot of text for a picture book, so is ideal for children in an age range of 3-7. The illustrations, as you would expect from John Burningham, are lovely and there is a lot of humour in the story, as well as a nice message. I read it to a class who were planning to make Christmas boxes for children and it really inspired them to picture the child who might receive ‘their’ box and showed them the joy of giving as well as receiving.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
It is Christmas Eve and Father Christmas is very tired after delivering all his present. One of the reindeer’s does not feel very well, “perhaps it had nibbled something on the way that it should not have…” Father Christmas puts them to bed and is about to go to sleep himself when he noticed that he has left a present behind. The present belongs to Harvey Slumfenburger, whose parents are too poor to buy him anything. The only present Harvey Slumfenburger gets is the one Father Christmas brings him and, even though he is tired and one of the reindeer felt unwell, he knows that he has to take that present to Harvey – who lives in a hut, at the top of the Roly Poly Mountain, far, far away.

This is a delightful story about Father Christmas, leaving his reindeer in bed, and using all different kinds of transport to make it to Harvey Slumfenburger’s home and deliver his present. It has quite a lot of text for a picture book, so is ideal for children in an age range of 3-7. The illustrations, as you would expect from John Burningham, are lovely and there is a lot of humour in the story, as well as a nice message. I read it to a class who were planning to make Christmas boxes for children and it really inspired them to picture the child who might receive ‘their’ box and showed them the joy of giving as well as receiving.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2007
This is absolutely the best Christmas story ever. By far the best I have read my nearly four year old. Superb all the way through, beats all those saccharine boring old christmas stories. My son loves this. We discovered it in a library in Capetown. Then moved to NZ and loaned it from the library here. Now have bought our very own copy and will be buying it as presents. Brillant.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2011
My daughter is now 14 and we still read this book every Christmas eve, except she reads it to us now. Its a really lovely story with beautiful illustrations. Lots of characters to make up silly voices for. I can recommend it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2014
Used to read this book with my pre-school son at the library many years ago, and we loved it. This paperback version is in vgc BUT despite being well packaged in a padded envelope (designed to protect the, possibly, DELICATE item inside, Royal Mail chose to fold it in half over my other items of mail and put an elastic band around it!!! It was rather bent but I've managed to flatten it out with some gentle persuasion and a pile of heavy books. Royal Mail have received a complaint.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2014
An enchanting story about Father Christmases adventures and travels to deliver presents.
An excellent book for 4-7 year olds. A read aloud story for home or the classroom which can also be used to explore methods of travel. The illustrations are excellent and what a wonderful title. Try getting your average 4-7 year old to say 'Slumfenberger'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99

Need customer service? Click here