Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tom Chaplin Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 31 August 2017
I bought this and the man and woman and brain Haynes books. They give good tips for health and how to do things right.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2015
Fantasic and funny guide to parenting for dads. If you have aver used a Hayes manual in the past, you will not be disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2017
Excellent, my son and his partner loved it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2017
a mans guide to babies
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2013
Great for first time dads. Brought it as a joke for a friend but its actually full of good information
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2016
The Mrs bought "what to expect when you're expecting"... I tried it, got fed up and went to fix a car.
I saw this and immediately bought it. Very helpful with diagrams and start to finish guidance where necessary.
I'm used to reading from Haynes guides so was familiar with the layout and the plain speaking.

It has some really good common sense advice as well as timely reminders in the right places.

Recommend this for anybody thinking about getting a mk1 baby.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 October 2007
The format - a baby book laid out like a car maintenance book - might seem trite and shallow. It might even seem like a jokey gift to give to a new dad, but there is much more than that to this book.

The author, Dr Ian Banks, is a medic and father with a flowing and matey line in narrative about children. His no-nonsense style about conception and the first two years of life are a refreshing alternative to the earnest earth-mother style that pervades this kind of literature. Not only is the text spot-on, but the illustrations spell out just what you need to know at the right moment.

What makes this book special is that it discusses the emotions men experience. Speaking as a man, emotion is something other people display, but this book lets men know that it's OK to feel amazed/overwhelmed/torn all at once and not be a wuss.

For fathers-to-be and new fathers, this book should be compulsory reading. You might feel the need for more detail in parts, but for new fathers it's hard to beat.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2003
This book was an inspiration.
For those fathers who want to learn a little more and did not know where to look then this is the answer.
It is well written and is also very funny! The author has managed a great mix of useful facts and humour to make it very readable.
I would heartily recommend it to my friends and would urge anyone reading this to place an order today for a great read!
Well done.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2010
We bought the original edition and it was exactly like a Haynes car manual. Most baby books are aimed at mothers, few if any, with photos of dads. The original edition was very amusing, but particularly designed to appeal to dads to be. Format and layout was exactly like a car workshop manual, but the vehicles were prams and buggies. Feeding and nappies were approached like adding petrol or doing an oil change. The new edition probably contains the same invaluable information, including an essential first aid section, but the layout is nothing like a car manual and more like your average baby book. We have bought several copies over the last few years for friends who were about to be first time dads,and they loved it too, but having bought the newer edition a few weeks ago after a few years break, we won't be buying this as a gift again. Shame!
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2003
This book was an inspiration.
For those fathers who want to learn a little more and did not know where to look then this is the answer.
It is well written and is also very funny! The author has managed a great mix of useful facts and humour to make it very readable.
I would heartily recommend it to my friends and would urge anyone reading this to place an order today for a great read!
Well done.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)