Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
56
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 June 2009
...... but excellent all the same. Well done Mssrs Riley and Dolling. This book is an excellent reference on the development and design of the various Apollo crafts in line with other recent (tongue-in-cheek) Haynes Manuals. I was really excited when I saw news of this manual being published as I've been waiting for 40 years for something like this.
In truth, it is not a 'workshop manual'. It won't help you dismantle and re-assemble the gazillion components on this craft. I also wish it gave more detail on what all the dials and buttons on the CSM dashboard are there for (some of the drawings are too small to decipher). However, you get a wonderful history on the development of the ship and useful information on the principles of space flight to help you steer through the roll and yaw and point the craft for a successful translunar injection.....so no more ossilating orbits between Pluto and Mars for me!
There is also some useful information deriving from the later Apollo 13 debacle. It won't help you fix the defective main bus B undervolt but at least you'll understand the relationship between the fuel cells and oxygen tanks! Just keep your fingers crossed if you're flying a pre Apollo 14 ship. Also contains useful information on how to use the urine dump properly. What a relief!

Check out Moon Landing by Richard Platt and David Hawlock as a great accompaniment for young and/or young at heart readers. Poptastic!
11 comment| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2009
This is a superb book. If you were lucky enough to the see the Discovery channel's 'Moon Machines' series then you'll have an idea what to expect. This is a history of the Apollo programme (and to a lesser extent the manned spaceflight programme) presented with excellent illustrations (original technical drawings, extremely rare photographs, great diagrams etc) and accompanied by well written and informative prose. If you appreciate Apollo or have any interest in spaceflight engineering then I would urge you to buy this book. It's VERY good.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2009
Co-Author Chris Riley gave a great lecture on Apollo 11 and introducing this superb Haynes manual at Cheltenham Science Fair 2009. Of course it was an immediate sell-out at the fair, and is a real joy to read. I was at City University, London studying control engineering when I followed the whole mission to the moon. As Chris says, it was a huge inspiration to many millions including technologists. Making this a Haynes manual is a wise choice, validating the Haynes attention to accuracy and fine detail and at the same time making a host of the fascinating Apollo technology and mission very accessible. The book is both an adventure in itself and is of great value to the aspiring engineer and student who wants to get to grips with one of the very real and most exciting adventures of the 20th century and beyond. 'Don't try this at home' at least unless you are a professional rocket scientist with a huge respect for safety, but as teenagers my college friend and I took great interest in how firework rockets and toy water-propelled rockets performed, while we eagerly followed each Apollo mission. This book and the detail of the moon landing bring back all of this excitement.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2009
Just what I had been looking for. I was having problems with my retro thrusters and the local ford dealership just couldn't fix them.
With this manual, some double sided tape and some sticky backed plastic I now have a fully functioning moon module once again.
If you have the Apollo 11 at home you really must buy this.
(N.B. This is no good for the Apollo 13 version which had the exploding side panels fitted).
44 comments| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2009
This is a fascinating book from Haynes, the publisher's of the well-known car workshop manuals.

Rather than read exactly like a workshop manual, the book is more like a slim-line encyclopaedia style volume that covers most of the aspects of the Apollo missions in sufficient detail and in plain English terms.

In its 196 pages, the book includes full colour photographs, cut-away diagrams, flow charts and explanations of everything from: space suit developments, the lunar module, fuel systems, rocket stages, instrument panels and more. The book also includes mini-biographies and pictures of the astronauts and key personnel involved in this astounding and inspiring endeavour together with the historical perspective of the space program.

What I liked about this book more than many others on the same subject is that it combined both the human interest side and practicalities of the space program, as well as the technology side of things which many of us find a bit baffling.

I would thoroughly recommend this book to anyone interested in the subject and with the 40th Anniversary of the Apollo landings being commemorated; it helps explain the staggering achievements of the moon landings in an accessible format, for either the avid enthusiast or the more casual reader.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2013
It won't show you how to repair your F1 or J1 engines and it isn't a ridiculously technical book, but it will answer a lot of questions about the Saturn V you might have. There is a very useful history of the development of rocket power and even a useful explanation about what went wrong with Apollo 13. Some of the facts and figures are mind-blowing too. I still can't get my head around the fact that each F1 engine of the first stage burned 3 tons of liquid oxygen (LOX) and RP-1 (Aviation kerosene) per second. ... Yes, per second and not per mile! That's 15 tons of fuel for all five engines each second until the end of the burn at two and a half minutes. It's facts like that which make you realise afresh what a genuinely incredible programme Apollo was. Whether you are quite clued up about the Apollo programme or just very interested and want to know more, this book is a must to have on your bookshelf!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
It's not like your run-of-the-mill Haynes manual, in that it's not a service and repair guide based on the complete stripdown of an actual vehicle. It's basically a well-written information book with loads of geeky facts and pictures put together in an easy to digest style that compels you to just keep reading. It doesn't just detail the craft itself, or the process of physically flying it. It also discusses everything from the logistics of planning a menu, to the evolution of space-suit design, toilet habits and the details of both the software and hardware of the lunar module's computer. It makes you wonder how on Earth so much could ever be achieved in an era when so much of the basic minimum technology required was still in its very infancy - or had to be essentially invented for the endeavour.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2009
If you think this book is going to be anything like that Haynes manual for your old Ford Cortina, you will be sadly mistaken. However If you are interested in the more technical aspects of Apollo/Saturn5 and its development, put in a way that practically anyone would understand, this is the book to buy. There is an excellent mix of text, illustrations and colour photos, many of which I have never seen before. Along with many snippets and little gems of information that you probably won't find elswhere (Detailed information on the LOL -'Little Old Ladies' painstakingly winding the cores for the primitive 'rope' guidance computer memory being just one example! )
Even once you have read through the book from cover to cover, it is the type of book that you can open at any page and easily read a single section or article again without having to start at page 1.
Please remember that if you really wanted the real owners workshop manual, the Saturn5 being so complex, I think that you would at least need a couple of warehouses to store it in!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2009
Desilusion

Sorry for that I can not agree with the previous reviews. I bought this book prior to release following the Amazon advertising. I'm a fan of Haynes manuals, in fact I bought one for each car I owned (as long as they have it). So when I saw the announcement of this new book I expected the usual technical manual. But it is not. A complete disaster as a manual. It is a compilation of pictures and some superficial technical text. The few technical drawings have very low quality. In some it is impossible to read the notes. One of the first pictures I got to see when opening the book was a completely wrong diagram showing the CSM approaching the moon from the trailing side. This would slingshot the spacecraft for outer space.
This book is more a generic historical description like so many on the market. For any one interested on technical issues related to the Appolo program I would recommend the book "How Appolo flew to the moon" by W. David Woods. Although David Woods participated him self on the making of this Haynes "manual" his book is far superior in detail and information.
55 comments| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2011
I expected this book to be similar to the excellent "Anatomy of the Ship" series and chock-full of new, original drawings - plans, elevations, cross-sections - revealing the construction and system layouts of these craft in unprecedented detail.
Well, it's not and it doesn't.
The title is totally misleading, for far from being a "workshop manual", this is in fact a potted history of the Apollo programme, aimed at, it seems to me, an audience too young to have lived through the space race and with no knowledge of the background to the Lunar landings.
The prose relies heavily on "Wow!" facts and is short on detail, whilst the drawings.......well, what can I say? So, so, disappointing. I don't think there's a single piece of original artwork anywhere between the covers.
If you know nothing about Apollo, then this book will give you an idea of what it took to get to the Moon. It might even encourage you to find out more about it, but if it's reference material you want, a half-dozen websites will yield all the diagrams reproduced here and more besides.
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse