Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
102
4.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 December 2009
Anyone well acquainted with Haynes vehicle manuals will know them to be great value for money - taking the reader through step-by-step instructions on everything from changing a headlight bulb, to stripping the engine out. Problem is, the clarity of instructions in the text department is not always matched by the pictures in the visuals dept. Well in this manual by Stephen Howard, you not only get very easy-to-follow instructions on how to maintain and set up your sax, you also get great high definition colour pictures to accompany the text. It's a huge leap forward in quality compared to other Haynes manuals and written in a style that's just a great informative read on its own.

If you play a sax, whether a vintage one, like mine, or a newbie, and you want to keep it in great nick and performing at its best, buy this manual without hesitation. You won't be disappointed. I've carefully followed the set-up instructions with my old Conn 10M and I've cured a number of niggly leaks - not serious - but ones I'd have otherwise lived with, between annual visits to the repair tech. The improvement in timbre of sound and ease of playing is remarkable. I don't remember it being as good as this, even after getting it back fresh from its annual service in the past. I feel like I've released its true spirit, not to mention my own! For me, the book is worth every penny for that reason alone.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2010
Congratulations to the Author Stephen Howard and to Haynes for such a well thought out and informative workshop manual. The production is a revelation with a set of very professional colour photographs (virtually all by the author); all are well planned and very well executed. The quality of this hardback manual on high quality paper is worlds apart from some earlier Haynes car workshop manuals.

Prospective buyers should note that it is far more than a workshop manual because it also contains invaluable tips on checking out an instrument before purchase. There are also sections on how the saxophone works and parts of the saxophone which shows all (and I do mean all) the components of the saxophone - very illuminating.

The real core of this manual is instrument maintenance and repair in which it excels. The manual tackles each subject in a down to earth, no nonsense, systematic approach. It is a god send for those that are confident and practical enough to tackle some of the more advanced repairs (such as pad and spring replacement) and includes a reference section detailing where to obtain spares parts and specialist tools.

For those not wishing (or have the time) to strip instruments down, the more straightforward advice on how to correctly and carefully lubricate the mechanism should help all woodwind players prevent unnecessary wear on their instrument. The manual also contains advice on how to test for leaks and adjust all aspects of the keywork (spring tension, regulation, action etc...).

Much of the advice can be read across to other woodwind instruments (clarinet, oboe etc...) and so this manual is even more valuable than it first appears. All in all I can not speak too highly of this book..... it's a gem!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2010
As a new member of the woodwind playing I think I will leave the stripping and fixing to the pro. But it helps me to understand how it works. The illustration are fantastic and it has ease of reading, easy to follow.
An all round great book full of tips and tricks for old and new sax players.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2009
If you own a saxophone then this is an essential 'must have' book. The book shows you how to maintain and (more importantly) fix your saxophone when things go wrong. The book is easy to read, well laid out, and comes with a healthy dose of common sense. Whilst it does not cover saxophone restoration it does cover all of the common saxophone ailments and their remedy. Stephen Howard has a worldwide reputation in his field and this book distills the essence of his skill(s), experience, and knowledge. Owning this book will be a bit like having vehicle breakdown insurance.... most of the time you will not need it - but when you do it's priceless. Worth every penny. Buy it.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2010
Within 2 days of receiving this book one of the keys on my horn stopped working. Perhaps five minutes later, with the help of Messrs Haynes and Howard I had found the trouble and fixed it. The text and superb pictures really work together to make this a
manual I feel I can use with confidence. But it's also a good read with technical overviews, some history, as well as the the "How to do it" stuff- and some humour. Even if you haven't bought your first sax yet this book has a lot of sound advice on how to choose an instrument and how to keep it well and happy after you get it home. The price is unbelievably low for something this useful (have you seen the price of reeds lately?) and I almost covered the cost of mine by not making a trip to my tech who lives 30 miles away
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2010
Having been s sax player for a good number of years I found myself stumped when a new sax was behaving very badly. Enter this book. In a very clear, honest and down to earth style Stephen Howard has taken the saxophone apart and explained it. After a brief search, guided by the book, I found a small screw had come loose. After tightening, the sax is once again an enjoyable (and listenable) instrument.

This is suitable for beginners and expert players alike; for those who want to know a bit more about the instrument and those who need to keep their pride and joy in good nick.

If you play the sax then get this book and study it. You'll be glad you did.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2015
The book itself is well written and full of information. But if you think you will be able to complete all the jobs required to keep a sax in professional order you will be disappointed. But there are good tips especially about sticking G* keys(A pain to all sax players).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2013
Heartily recommend this book for those who are at least interested in finding out how the sax is maintained and put together. Goes into some incredible detail. There's lots of things in here that friends who've been playing for 30 years didn't know. That said, I'll go to my local repair shop, as I live abroad and the prices for repadding, corking etc are so cheap compared to the UK. So this book is exceptional useful in overpriced GB. Bought for £14.51
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
The first thing that surprised and delighted me were the full colour photos throughout this lavishly illustrated book. I kinda expected the usual informative but graphically drab automotive manual type of thing but this is a sumptuous tome which to my further surprise was not printed in China but in America.

It starts at the very beginning for the would be saxophonist - with choosing an instrument. I hesitate to recommend this book to anyone still contemplating taking up the instrument simply because the wealth of information in it might be off putting... maybe?... but it would be ideal a few months down the line when an understanding of the workings of this instrument are naturally aroused by the actuality of practising it every day. Then again - because the intricate and complex plumbing of this amazing instrument can appear off-putting in itself, some students may find this comprehensive information helpful - even essential before getting to grips with a real sax. Hmm...?

Like the tone of a sax, the tone of its manual needs to be mellifluous and author Stephen Howard certainly achieves this with his clear, simple easy to read prose. It is such a well written book that I can see it would even appeal to non musicians interested in mechanics and metalwork. It covers just about every issue for the healthy maintenance of your saxophone with the exception of dents and misalignments - both areas for the expert.

I highly recommend this book which is indispensable to the serious saxophonist.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2010
This book covers every aspect of saxophone mechanics. From selecting an instrument, how it works, how it's maintained, to performing repairs (both simple and more complicated) with few specialist tools--it's all right here. Profusely illustrated with color photos, it especially enables a saxophonist to take on minor repairs and adjustments with confidence. Let's face it, sooner or later, every sax player is going to encounter an emergency situation in rehearsal or performance--a pad or cork falling out etc.--This book gives one the understanding of what makes the horn "tick", so creative solutions are more likely to evolve. (Personally, I use layers of ripped masking tape as a substitute for fallen off cork etc.) I was especially interested in the section on regulating the instrument. Unconditionally recommended for all saxophonists, even if they only read the book for background.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)