Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 April 2010
A lot of people like to take pot shots at Haynes manuals, but really I can never understand why. Many profession garages have several Haynes books in their collection of car manuals. Most of the critical information contained in them is taken from the manufacturer anyway.

Although the modern manuals tend to have less comprehensive information than the old style ones (eg classic minis and escorts), you have to bear in mind that modern cars are also infinitely more complex than such older vehicles.

So all in all, this book would pay for itself the first time you do even the smallest of jobs. Essential for the DIY mechanic, or just for the enthusiastic owner, who wants to know a bit more about how their car is screwed together.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2015
It really only warrants 2.5 stars in that that it is partly useful and at other time skims past important information or skips it altogether. Cars now have complex electronic sensors and controls and the book needs to be much clearer in highlighting where to DIY or, maybe in bold type, where to consult at least an independent specialist with the diagnostic equipment other than the expense of a main dealer. Some jobs on problem areas in the Disco 2 that can be tackled by the experienced home mechanic are missed out completely, for instance there are known faults with the injector wiring harness which would likely need replacing sooner or later. The job can be carried out at home without resorting to garage diagnostic facilities other than easily purchased plug in readers now becoming increasingly available , but there is not a mention anywhere in the relevant section. One the other hand removal of injectors is demonstrated in some detail but then new ones need reprogramming in the ECU (Engine control unit), not something that is a walk in the park unless you have had some instruction and training and a suitable piece of kit to do the job. There is also quite a lot of jumping from one section to another to carryout some work, ie a list of actions starts, then refers you to another chapter and section then back to the job in hand. There is often not a complete progress from action one to action "x". My impression is that the book has been edited down to save space and keep within a fairly standard size across the whole range of manuals from this publisher. The official Land Rover manual runs to at least 1000 pages, the Haynes book is no more than a third of that and includes lots of generic information and some that is covered by the car handbook.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
I am very pleased that I purchased this reference book which was/is every bit as useful, practical, easy to understand & informative as I could have wished for. Even though I am not a mechanic I am able to follow the contents which enables me to perform tasks that I would otherwise have to pass on to someone else or at least have a good idea of what is required so as to be able to inform a professional when putting my vehicle in for problem to be addressed & be able to judge the amount of work that will be required.

I would highly recommend any other Land Rover Discovery owner who may not be as mechanically skilled as they would like to be to follow my example. This is why I rated my purchase as a five star item.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2015
I bought this manual in softback format, as it did not appear to be available as a hardback. The content is fine, but the paper and general production is poor.....the paper is thin and flimsy, even by Haynes' standards, and how it would stand up to wear and tear in a garage/workshop setting is debatable. It does the job - just. I may have to protect the book in an acrylic box to protect it from greasy fingerprints and oily marks!
Try to buy it in Hardback, if you can.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2009
The definitive Haynes manual. Excellent for any TD5 owner, especially as these vehicles are becoming more complicated as time goes on. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2010
If you need, or enjoy doing your own vehicle maintenance, you probably couldn't get better than Haynes. A very straightforward guide to almost any job you would tackle, and even graded as to the difficulty of each job. Obviously some tasks need a competant mechanic, but they are few and far between. And you save a few bob too! I reckon I saved myself £100 on one job (Fuel Pressure Regulator).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
A very useful reference book spolit by poor photographs, line drawing could have been better and yet again the missing TD 5 engine detail which, is in the years proclaimed by this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2014
Everything you need to know about your Land Rover Discovery in clear and precise detail
You will need information from another manual if you have Series 2 V8 petrol
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
i love it, does exactly what it says on the tin, would definately purchase from this seller again, no problems. tells you all you need to know
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
the book arrived on time,well packaged. my husband is a keen car at home fixer,and he is very happy with this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)