Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
14
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 April 2012
Nostalgic look into the golden era of motorsport ,lots of high quality period photos, also rare colour shots ,which I haven't seen before ,This is mostly photo album but text is competent and informative. Apart from obvious stars ( Moss,Fangio) author presents less known drivers and teams. At the end of each chapter there is list of teams involved , very useful feature. As a fifties motorsport nut I have many pricier books but this one falls into the best.
Highly recommended.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2014
Motorsport Fans ..this is a must Buy
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2017
Very pleased,good book well written fantastic value!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2017
As great as 1960-1969 book. Nice color pictures, never seen elsewhere.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2011
Another superb effort from Paul Parker, joining his companion volumes on Formula One and Sports Car racing in adjoining decades. More than just a mere collection of pictures, his pithy captions and contextual analysis, along with an obvious deep love of the subject matter make this volume one to be cherished by the motorsports aficionado.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2011
What service. I pre-ordered this book advertised for realease on the 4th August and it came 3 days early! Excellent.

Those familiar with the series or with any interests in 1950s Formula 1 should have no hesitation in getting this book. I would go as far as saying it is one of the best histories of this era. Some of the pictures have been seen before but many have not and there is some suberb stuff as befitting covering a time when Debraine, Klementaski and Monkhouse were celebrity snappers at Formula 1 races. But there are other Grand Prix picture books. What makes this series are the detailed captions and the information on who drove what season by season.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2011
The best in the Formula 1 in Camera series so far. Brilliant photos and long informative captions featuring minor drivers and teams as well as the obvious stars. I was born in 1947 so remember many of the events personally and even spectated at a few including Aintree.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2012
This is not just a book of photographs. The text that accompanies each photo tells a tale and takes you back to that era. Although I am just old enough to have seen a few races in the 50's, I learnt a lot about the atmosphere, the circuits, the drivers and the dangers of that era. A splendid book. I have asked my wife to buy me the others in the series for my birthday!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2012
If you wallow in the fifties motor racing nostalgia,then this is a must.Essentially as it indicates a pictorial evocation of the period with a more than reasonable slice of new or rarely seem images it is well worth a place on your bookshelf.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2015
Bought this book for my father who already has many books on F1 from the 50’s. Glad I did, as the photos are not ones he has seen previously and the text is detailed. An excellent book that I arrived very quickly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here